Subject Guides are currently being updated. Please pardon the look and functionality of some of these guides as they are being revised.

Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MSU Logo

Music : Home

Includes research guides on jazz studies, music education, piano pedagogy, world music, instrumental and vocal resources, and much more!

MISSION STATEMENT: The Music & Media Collection at Duane G. Meyer Library exists primarily to support the undergraduate and graduate curriculums in music, dance, theater, and film at Missouri State University. We strive to maintain a well-balanced and comprehensive core book and score collection within the library, while also selecting and providing access to remote and global resources that support music research and performance needs throughout our university and regional community. "Media" formats include physical objects such as important historical LPs, compact discs, DVDs, microform documents, musical instruments, etc. as well as streaming audiovisual databases.

Need Help?

Susanna Reichling's picture
Susanna Reichling
Contact:
Access Services
Room 110, Meyer Library

Missouri State University
901 South National
Springfield, MO 65897
(417) 836-5105
Subjects:Music, Theatre

Finding Our Physical Collections Within the Library

2nd LEVEL

MUSIC SCORES -- M call numbers

MUSIC BOOKS (BIOGRAPHIES, HISTORIES, METHOD BOOKS, ETC) -- ML and MT call numbers

MUSIC SOUND RECORDINGS -- CDs and LPs are in closed stacks on the second level. If you would like to check out one or more of our sound recordings, bring the call number(s) to the main level Information Desk and the staff can retrieve the item(s) for you.

LISTENING/VIEWING STATIONS 

  • There is a listening station set up in Room 201-I. It includes audio players that are compatible with cassette tapes, compact discs, and records (including LP-33 1/3 rpm, 45 rpm, and 78 rpm formats).

MUSIC COMPOSITION/EDITING RESOURCES

CARILLON PRACTICE ROOM (201-G)

MAIN LEVEL

MUSIC REFERENCE BOOKS -- print editions of MGG, Grove's Encyclopedias, Baker's Biographical Dictionaries, and numerous finding aids), are currently located on the main level to the left of the elevators.

LOWER LEVEL

MUSIC JOURNALS -- we currently subscribe to thirty music journals that are NOT available online through Music Index, JSTOR, etc. Most of these are instrument-specific, such as International Trumpet Guild, Double Reed, Saxophone Symposium, and Percussive Notes. Both current and back issues are located on the lower level; please ask at the Information desk if you need assistance.

DVDs -- our DVD collection includes many full-length opera, ballet, and music theater productions as well as masterclasses, composer/performer biographies, and documentaries. Look in the educational-documentary section under the call numbers M, ML, and MT.

MICROFORMS

In addition, there are many wonderful music resources located in the University Special Collections and Archives (Room 306).

Want to hear from us?

Be the first to find out when new purchases have arrived!

Facebook logo

We want to hear from you!

What's been the best decade for jazz so far?

We want to hear from you!
1920s: 1 votes (3.13%)
1930s: 4 votes (12.5%)
1940s: 5 votes (15.63%)
1950s: 11 votes (34.38%)
1960s: 5 votes (15.63%)
1970s: 2 votes (6.25%)
1980s: 0 votes (0%)
1990s: 0 votes (0%)
the present time: 4 votes (12.5%)
Total Votes: 32