Subject Guides are currently being updated. Please pardon the look and functionality of some of these guides as they are being revised.
Although this is by no means an exhaustive list of world music resources, it is our hope that this page introduces users to the range of materials that are available through the Music Library at Missouri State University. If you have a specific research topic that you'd like to explore, you can arrange a one-on-one consultation with a member of our library staff by emailing us at: Music&Media@missouristate.edu.
This 12-part video series, entitled Exploring the World of Music, looks at music from around the world as it explores themes such as music and the environment, music as cultural memory, and how technology changes music. The individual episodes are 30 minutes long, and each includes several 5-minute video segments that focus on a particular music culture.
Program 1, “Sound, music, and the environment”
Ganga singing from Bosnia 11:35-17:50; Tuvan throat singing 17:50-25:25
Program 2, "The transformative power of music"
Program 3, "Music and memory”
West African griot song 3:00-5:50; Storytelling ballads in rural America 5:50-10:00; Aboriginal ritual song and dance 12:35-14:55; Irish music in America 14:55-18:05
Program 4, "Transmission: learning music"
North Indian classical music; African village drumming
Program 5, "Rhythm"
North Indian tala 5:08-8:43; Japanese shakuhachi 8:43-11:11; West African drum ensembles 11:11-17:38; Afro-Cuban rumba 17:38-20:45
Program 6, "Melody"
Arabic maqam system 9:15-14:35; Irish ornamentation and sean nos singing 14:35-18:46; North Indian raga 18:46-23:27
Program 7, "Timbre, the color of music"
Program 8, "Texture"
Program 9, "Harmony"
Program 10, "Form, the shape of music"
Western music - sonata form 3:20-8:50; Jazz - improvisation over AABA form 8:50-13:30; Traditional Japanese music - narrative form 13:30-17:38; African music (from drumming to gospel) - call and response form 17:38-22:18; Irish dance music - AABB form 22:18-25:20
Program 11, "Composers and improvisers"
North Indian raga 2:50-4:10; Jazz 9:04-13:32; Arab classical music 13:32-16:43
Program 12, "Music and technology"
The Music Traditions of India
Music in Africa
Balinese Gamelan and Dance
The Music Traditions of China
Music and Politics in Eastern Europe
Native American Music
Traditional American Music
Scholarly journals often provide the newest research and up-to-date information on upcoming publications and festivals.
Many of our books focused on music traditions from around the world are located in the following sections on the shelves:
ML199-360 History ML480-548 Instruments ML3565-3776 History/Styles
The following sources are all available in the reference area of the music library. These do not normally check out to students.
Ref ML100 .G16 1998 - The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Each volume in this series contains an overview of the geographic region, a general survey of its musical traditions, and more detailed descriptions of selected musical genres. The individual articles are supplemented with photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples.
Volume 1: Africa
Volume 2: South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Volume 3: The United States and Canada
Volume 4: Southeast Asia
Volume 5: South Asia (The Indian Subconitinent)
Volume 6: The Middle East
Volume 7: East Asia (China, Japan, Korea)
Volume 8: Europe
Volume 9: Australia and the Pacific Islands
Volume 10: The World's Music (General Perspectives and Reference Tools)
Ref ML101 .A9 O94 1997 - The Oxford Companion to Australian Music
This single-volume encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of music in Australia, from ancient Aboriginal traditions and European-derived orchestral, operatic, and concert music, to Australian folk, jazz, country, rock, and experimental music. The alphabetical entries include biographies of key figures and groups, major musical organizations and companies, musical works, genres, instruments, terms, and some of the historical and cultural contexts within which Australian music can be placed.
Ref ML101 .I47 O94 2011 - The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India
Fully cross-referenced, and with over 5000 entries by more than 100 leading experts from all over India and abroad, this 3-volume encyclopedia includes detailed biographical notes on composers, musicians, and dancers in classical, folk, film, and other musical forms over the last 2000 years. Over 200 rare photos and paintings from family albums and private collections are included, as well as sections on the music of India's neighboring countries, the influence of Western music on India, and the prevelence of Indian music in popular drama and film.
Ref ML101 .I73 V35 1999 - The Companion to Traditional Irish Music
Ref ML106 .C8 O7613 2004 - Cuban Music frrom A to Z
Ref ML108 .F27 1981 - An Annotated Glossary of Arabic Musical Terms
Ref ML108 .K37 1990 - Selected Musical Terms of Non-Western Cultures: A Notebook-Glossary
Ref ML128 .E8 P67 2004 - Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide
Ref ML128 .E8 S4 1992 - Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated Bibliography
Ref ML128 .F75 K44 1997 - North American Indian Music: A Guide to Published Sources and Selected Recordings