LibGuides: COM 115 Fundamentals of Public Speaking: News &amp; Media Sources

Missouri Newspapers

Kansas City Star The online version of the Kansas City Star offers complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Coverage begins with the current daily paper, and the "recent editions" tab provides the last 30 days. Another tab provides archival coverage back to January 1, 2007. This database utilizes keyword or customized searching which allows the user to limit searches to author, section, or page label, and searches can be specified to all clippings, articles, pictures, or advertisements
Springfield Newspaper Index Springfield Newspaper Index is part of the Springfield-Greene County Public Library's Ozark News and Historical Index, which indexes Springfield newspapers (1867-2002; 2009-present) and provides selected topical indexing to Springfield Business Journal (1995; 1998-present), Ozarks Periodical Index (1988-present), & regional publications and sources. For availability of these resources in MSU Libraries, check Journal & Magazine Titles on the Library homepage.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch The St. Louis Post-Dispatch provides full-text coverage of articles from 1992 to date, including the current day's news. Coverage for citation/abstract only is available from 1989-1991, with selective full-text coverage available from Jan., 1992-Dec. 3, 1996. Beginning Dec.4, 1996 to present-day, all cited articles are available full-text. Full text is in html format only. For historical coverage (1878-2009), the St. Louis Post-Dispatch is available on microfilm in the Microforms Department on the lower level of Meyer Library, and an index to its articles is available in paper format (1981-1997) in the Ref News Indexes of Meyer Library on the lower level.

News Evaluation Resources

BBC Disinformation Watch Newsletter
Biweekly updates and stories about disinformation issues worldwide.
Center for News Literacy, Stony Brook University School of Journalism
Civic Online Reasoning (Stanford)
A curriculum for teaching and learning how to evaluate online information from Stanford University.
Data Journalism Handbook
eurotopics.net Media Landscape
Guide to the media landscape in most European countries and numerous other countries worldwide.
Facing History and Ourselves: Topics.
IREX's Learn to Discern Media Literary Project (IREX)
Misinformation and Disinformation: A Guide for Protecting Yourself
Poynter Institute
A nonpartisan journalism site that sponsors the PolitiFact fact-checking team, the International Fact-Checking Network (IFCN), and much more.
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers
World Press Freedom Index (Reporters without Borders)

COM 115 Fundamentals of Public Speaking: News & Media Sources

Missouri Newspapers

News Evaluation Resources

Selected Websites