Basics of Environmental ScienceThe new edition of this popular student text offers an engaging introduction to environmental study. It covers the entire breadth of the environmental sciences, providing concise, non-technical explanations of physical processes and systems and the effects of human activities. In this second edition the scientific background to major environmental issues is clearly explained
Environmental and Pollution ScienceEnvironmental and Pollution Science, Second Edition, provides the latest information on the environmental influence of a significant number of subjects, and discusses their impact on a new generation of students. This updated edition of Pollution Science has been renamed to reflect a wider view of the environmental consequences we pay as a price for a modern economy
Chemistry of the Upper and Lower Atmosphere : Theory, Experiments, and ApplicationsChemistry of the Upper and Lower Atmosphere provides postgraduate researchers and teachers with a uniquely detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative resource. The text bridges the 'gap' between the fundamental chemistry of the earth's atmosphere and 'real world' examples of its application to the development of sound scientific risk assessments and associated risk management control strategies for both tropospheric and stratospheric pollutants.
Environmentally Harmonious Chemistry for the 21st CenturyEnvironmental awareness in recycling and limiting toxic emissions are, indeed, important. However, although not generally known, this book introduces a chemical approach to the problem of environmental pollution in which the aim of the work carried out is to recover and protect our environment, the most important challenge facing mankind in this 21st Century. Various studies on the utilization of clean and abundant solar energy, chemistry use by solar irradiation and highly efficient new battery systems, etc., are presented for a book into technologies and systems for the global environment.
Inorganic Chemistry : An Industrial and Environmental PerspectiveThis book addresses the question, What is inorganic chemistry good for? rather than the more traditional question, How can we develop a theoretical basis for inorganic chemistry from sophisticated theories of bonding? The book prepares students of science or engineering for entry into the multi-billion-dollar inorganic chemical and related industries, and for rational approaches to environmental problems such as pollution abatement, corrosion control, and water treatment.
Microbiology and Chemistry for Environmental Scientists and EngineersBiological and chemical processes play a key role in the treatment of domestic wastewater and are becoming increasingly important in tackling the problems caused by industrial wastes. The first edition of this popular text focused on microbial systems and wastewater processes that are implemented in a treatment plant. While maintaining this approach, this revised edition also incorporates components that cover the fundamental aspects of inorganic and organic chemistry relating to water treatment and pollution.
Practical Environmental AnalysisNew techniques, improved understanding and changes in regulations relating to environmental analysis means that students, technicians and lecturers alike need an up-to-date guide to practical environmental analysis. This unique book provides detailed instructions for practical experiments in environmental analysis. The comprehensive coverage includes the chemical analysis of important pollutants in air, water, soil and plant tissue, and the experiments generally require only basic laboratory equipment and instrumentation. The content is supported by theoretical material explaining, amongst other concepts, the principles behind each method and the importance of various pollutants. Also included are suggestions for projects and worked examples.
Overview
Meterology
Oceanography
Meterology
A Vast Machine : Computer Models, Climate Data, and the Politics of Global WarmingGlobal warming skeptics often fall back on the argument that the scientific case for global warming is all model predictions, nothing but simulation; they warn us that we need to wait for real data, 'sound science.' In A Vast Machine Paul Edwards has news for these skeptics: without models, there are no data. Today, no collection of signals or observations -- even from satellites, which can 'see' the whole planet with a single instrument -- becomes global in time and space without passing through a series of data models. Everything we know about the world's climate we know through models. Edwards offers an engaging and innovative history of how scientists learned to understand the atmosphere -- to measure it, trace its past, and model its future.
Calculating the Weather : Meteorology in the 20th CenturyDuring the course of this century, meteorology has become unified, physics-based, and highly computational. Calculating the Weather: Meteorology in the 20th Century explains this transformation by examining the various roles of computation throughout the history of meteorology, giving most attention to the period from World War I to the 1960s.
Dynamics of the Atmosphere : A Course in Theoretical MeteorologyDynamics of the Atmosphere consists of two parts: the first presenting the mathematical tools needed for a thorough understanding of the topics covered in the second part of the book. The second part begins with the derivation of the equation describing the atmospheric motion on the rotating earth.
From Observations To Simulations: A Conceptual Introduction To Weather And Climate ModellingFrom Observations to Simulations leads us on a fascinating journey through the methods used for the scientific analysis of complex systems such as the atmosphere and the Earth system: from meteorology and climatology, as observational sciences, to the development of models and the use of computers as virtual laboratories. In plain, accessible language, avoiding technicalities, but highlighting the conceptually meaningful aspects, the book describes this “Copernican revolution” in meteorology and climatology, a change in methodological paradigm that rigorously tests the definition of some classical concepts, such as “causality” and “prediction.” This is the first book that guides the general public (and sets the specialists thinking) through research on complex systems which is contributing to a change in our outlook on nature.
Global Physical ClimatologyGlobal Physical Climatology is an introductory text devoted to the fundamental physical principles and problems of climate sensitivity and change. Addressing some of the most critical issues in climatology, this text features incisive coverage of topics that are central to understanding orbital parameter theory for past climate changes, and for anthropogenic and natural causes of near-future changes
Introducing Meteorology : A Guide to WeatherIntroducing Meteorology provides a succinct overview of the science of the. The initial chapters describe the development of the science, the atmosphere and the forces which govern the weather. The author then discusses weather influences at global and local scales before describing the science of weather forecasting.
Meteorological Measurement SystemsThis book treats instrumentation used in meteorological surface systems, both on the synoptic scale and the mesoscale, and the instrumentation used in upper air soundings. The text includes material on first- and second-order differential equations as applied to instrument dynamic performance, and required solutions are developed. Sensor physics are emphasized in order to explain how sensors work and to explore the strengths and weaknesses of each design type
Meteorology at the MillenniumMeteorology at the Millennium details recent advances in meteorology and explores its interfaces with science, technology, and society. Ways in which modern meteorology is contributing to the developments in other sciences are described, as well as how atmospheric scientists are learning from colleagues in related disciplines. Meteorology at the Millennium will serve as a point of reference for students and researchers of meteorology and climatology for many years to come. The areas covered include weather prediction at the millennium, climate variability and change, atmosphere-ocean coupling, the biogeochemical system, weather on other planets. This book is a compilation of the best invited papers presented at a conference celebrating the 150 years of the Royal Meteorological Society (RMS).
Monitoring and Predicting Agricultural Drought : A Global StudyAgricultural droughts affect whole societies, leading to higher food costs, threatened economies, and even famine. In order to mitigate such effects, researchers must first be able to monitor them, and then predict them; however no book currently focuses on accurate monitoring or prediction of these devastating kinds of droughts. To fill this void, the editors of Monitoring and Predicting Agricultural Drought have assembled a team of expert contributors from all continents to make a global study, describing biometeorological models and monitoring methods for agricultural droughts. These models and methods note the relationships between precipitation, soil moisture, and crop yields, using data gathered from conventional and remote sensing techniques.
Preparing for Climate ChangeGlobal momentum is building to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. So far, so good. The less happy news is that Earth's temperatures will continue to rise for decades. And evidence shows that climbing temperatures are already having serious consequences for vulnerable people and regions through droughts, extreme weather, and melting glaciers. In this book, climate experts Michael Mastrandrea and Stephen Schneider argue that we need to start adapting to climate change, now. They write that these efforts should focus primarily on identifying the places and people most at risk and taking anticipatory action--from developing drought-resistant crops to building sea walls.
Weather Cycles : Real or Imaginary?This completely updated new edition of Weather Cycles: Real or Imaginary? explores in detail the unresolved debate on the existence of weather cycles. The book examines the competing arguments for observed effects being due to natural variability, solar activity and the Earth's orbital parameters.
Oceanography
Chasing Science at Sea : Racing Hurricanes, Stalking Sharks, and Living Undersea with Ocean ExpertsTo the average office-dweller, marine scientists seem to have the good life: cruising at sea for weeks at a time, swimming in warm coastal waters, living in tropical paradises. But ocean scientists who go to sea will tell you that it is no vacation. Creature comforts are few and the obstacles seemingly insurmountable, yet an abundance of wonder and discovery still awaits those who take to the ocean. Chasing Science at Sea immerses readers in the world of those who regularly go to sea—aquanauts living underwater, marine biologists seeking unseen life in the deep ocean, and the tall-ship captains at the helm, among others—and tells the fascinating tale of what life—and science—is like at the mercy of Mother Nature.
Ecological Geography of the SeaThis book presents an in-depth discussion of the biological and ecological geography of the oceans. It synthesizes locally restricted studies of the ocean to generate a global geography of the vast marine world.Based on patterns of algal ecology, the book divides the ocean into four primary compartments, which are then subdivided into secondary compartments.
Traveling the 38th Parallel : A Water Line Around the WorldBetween extremes of climate farther north and south, the 38th North parallel line marks a temperate, middle latitude where human societies have thrived since the beginning of civilization. It divides North and South Korea, passes through Athens and San Francisco, and bisects Mono Lake in the eastern Sierra Nevada, where authors David and Janet Carle make their home. Former park rangers, the authors set out on an around-the-world journey in search of water-related environmental and cultural intersections along the 38th parallel. This book is a chronicle of their adventures as they meet people confronting challenges in water supply, pollution, wetlands loss, and habitat protection.
Vanished OceanThis is a book about an ocean that vanished six million years ago - the ocean of Tethys. Named after a Greek sea nymph, there is a sense of mystery about such a vast, ancient ocean, of which all that remains now are a few little pools, like the Caspian Sea
Related Subjects
See also Animal Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Geography, and Public Affairs in this Subject Guide