Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Physics
- Analytical Abstracts This link opens in a new window The Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date. It contains comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
- Scitation This link opens in a new window Scitation is the database platform for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals and conference proceedings.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography contains biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It sheds light on not just the history of science, but on the history of humankind
- Salem Science This link opens in a new window This is the online version of seven scientific resources including Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, etc., and resources on forensic science
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Designed for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
- Space Exploration and Humanity: A Historical Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window This work contains nearly 600 articles on all aspects of space exploration: history, political, social, cultural, and economic issues.
