Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is a multipurpose guide with resources that you can use when seeking information about racism and inequality. This guide can be used as a learning and education tool. Here you will find reading lists of books, articles, and websites. You will also find media and videos in various formats.
This guide is not comprehensive and is still evolving. If you have a suggestion or a resource you think should be added to the guide, please contact TracyStout@missouristate.edu or use the contact information on the right.
Library Resources to Search for Articles
Use our databases to search for magazine or journal articles. Be sure to contact us if you need assistance.
A few keyword suggestions: racism, inequality, white privilege, institutional racism, dismantling racism, racial justice, equality policy or policies, structural racism, discrimination, (racial) economic inequality, race and health care, displacement, exclusion, segregation.
Use the first search box on the Libraries' Homepage to search all resources (all databases and all books).
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Oxford African American Studies Center (1 user limit) This database is a comprehensive collection of over 7,500 biographical and research articles on African American history and culture.
JSTOR Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Project Muse Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
PsycINFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
Gender Studies Database Combines several databases relevant to women's and men's studies, as well as sexual diversity, child development and adolescent studies, and family and society studies, with coverage from 1972 and earlier to present.
Public Affairs Index Covers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) Full-text database of news, legal, business, and biographical information.