Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MSU Logo

Film Studies: Find Films to View

Whether you are a film student looking for research materials or just want to sit back and enjoy a classic movie, this guide will help direct you to resources to make your search easier.

The complete DVD collection at Meyer, which includes both feature films and the documentary/educational DVDs, is located in the NE corner of the Lower Level (near the microforms collection). You will need to check these out at the main level Information desk.

We have a small collection of VHS tapes in storage. If you would like to check out one of those (the call number would be N followed by a three or four digit number), please ask for assistance at the Circulation/Information desk. 

Two viewing stations for VHS and DVD are available for your use on the west side of the second level, towards Glass Hall. These have 27" flat screens.

SCROLL LEFT OR RIGHT TO VIEW OUR NEWEST ARRIVALS!

Feature Films

TOP GUN: MAVERICK (2022)  Sequel to the original 1986 Top Gun. Features returning cast members Tom Cruise, Ed Harris, Jennifer Connolly, Val Kilmer, along with a new roster of young fighter pilots (including Miles Teller as "Rooster," the son of Maverick's Top Gun partner Goose).

Animations

AMERICAN POP (1981)  "American Pop looks like no other animated film ever made." (Vincent Canby, The New York Times)

Journey into an explosion of sight, sound, song, and superb storytelling from animation innovator Ralph Bakshi. From a turn-of-the-century immigrant vaudevillian to a rock superstar, this film tells the story of four generations whose lives revolve around the beat of American popular music.

Feature Films

DUNE (2021)  With a musical score by Hans Zimmer, this new adaptation of Frank Herbert's novel received an eight-minute standing ovation when it premiered at the Venice Film Festival. Director Denis Villeneuve is planning a second installment of the story, set to be released in October 2023. 

Animations

WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT (1988)  This groundbreaking animated feature film, directed by Steven Spielberg, won Oscars for Best Film Editing, Best Sound Effects Editing, Best Visual Effects, and Special Achievement in Animation Direction. 

Feature Films

INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS (1956)  The pod people are here! This classic sci-fi film has been adapted three times (1978, 1993, and 2007) with a fourth currently in development at Warner Brothers. This 1956 version was added to the National Film Registry in 1994, and regularly appears on lists of "Best Sci Fi" and "Best Horror" films.

International Films

COME AND SEE (1985)  This gripping and brutal anti-war Soviet film focuses on the Nazi Germany occupation of Belarus as seen by a young resistance fighter (played by 14-year-old Aleksei Kravchenko). Director Elem Klimov has said in several interviews that he feared the movie was so intense that it would do serious psychological harm to the young actor. This Criterion edition includes 2001 interviews with both Kravchenko and Klimov.

Feature Films

NOPE (2022)  UFOs and horses combine in this newest release from writer-director Jordan Peele (Get Out, Us).

Animations

THE OLD MAN MOVIE (2022) - Dive into the weird world of cow-milking with this stop motion animation from Estonia. If you like South Park, you'll probably like this also. More flatulance jokes than you can shake a stick at!

Feature Films

RIO BRAVO (1959)  "One of the all-time great Westerns" -- Danny Peary, Guide for the Film Fanatic.

Features John Wayne as Sheriff John T. Chance, along with Dean Martin, Walter Brennan, Ricky Nelson, and Angie Dickinson.

Feature Films

THE GREEN KNIGHT (2021)  Dev Patel ("Slumdog Millionaire") plays the role of Sir Gawain in this retelling of the classic King Arthur/Knights of the Round Table legend. From the DVD back: "Gawain contends with ghosts, giants, thieves, and schemers in what becomes a deeper journey to define his character while proving his worth in the eyes of his family and kingdom."

Feature Films - Musicals

CANNIBAL! THE MUSICAL (1985)  If you enjoy the humor of South Park (1997) and the melodies of The Book of Mormon (2011), give this early effort from Matt Stone and Trey Parker a try. This 2-disc 13th-Anniversary edition includes the feature film as well as all the extra features you might expect from this creative team: "inebriated audio commentary," recipe ideas, and plenty of cannibal and carnage close-ups.

Feature Films

The AFI Top 100

To celebrate one hundred years of American filmmaking history, the American Film Institute created a list of its "Top 100" American films. We are proud to include all of these films as a part of our video collection.

Educational and Documentary Films

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

D, E, F - History

G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

  • G - Geography
  • GR - Folklore
  • GV - Sports & Recreation
  • GV1580 - Dance Productions

H - Social Sciences

J - Political Science

K - Law

L - Education

M - Music

  • M1500 - Opera and Musical Theatre Productions

N - Fine Arts

  • NA - Architecture

P - Language and Literature

  • PN1992.77 - Television Series
  • PN1995.75 - Silent Films
  • PN1995.9.S53 - Short Films
  • PN1997.5 - Animated Films
  • PN1997.9 - International Films

Q - Mathematics/Science

R - Medicine

S - Agriculture

T - Technology

  • TR - Photography

U - Military Science

Z - Books and Libraries

Streaming Video

LIBRARY DATABASES

  • Academic Video Online
    • This ProQuest/Alexander Street collection features over 70,000 films across a broad selection of disciplines. All titles are indexed and discoverable by using our "Discover@MSU" search box.
  • Films on Demand
    • Access over 35,000 highly interdisciplinary videos! Direct links to available films are provided through our "Discover@MSU" search box.
  • Films on Demand: Archival & Newsreels
    • Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
  • Ambrose Video
    • Includes over 500 streaming video programs in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and physical/life sciences. The videos typically range in length from 25-60 minutes. A number of re-mastered series are available, including: Bronowskia's Ascent of Man; Attenborough's The Living Planet; James Burke's Connections; History of Civil Rights in America; History of the U.S. Constitution; History of Western Art; and the entire BBC Shakespeare series.
  • Naxos Video Library
    • Over 2500 full-length videos of music performances, opera, ballet, master classes, and documentaries.
  • ICE Video Library
    • Provides 175 media clips geared for occupational and physical therapy programs.

OTHER ONLINE SOURCES