New platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. As the migration between websites by the Bureau continues, you may still need to use American FactFinder to access some data.
Potential Databases for Secondary Info on Targeted Violence (Ebscohost)
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit)This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Political Science CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowContains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.
Education Full TextThis link opens in a new windowEducation Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed.
Public Affairs IndexThis link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
Potential Databases for Secondary Info on Targeted Violence (Not Ebscohost)
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) contains 6,791 peer reviewed full-text open access academic research journals. All subject areas are included, with an emphasis on physical, biological and health sciences, and the resource is international scope, containing journals from publishers in dozens of countries.
Emerald eJournal CollectionThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowThis is the most current and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Helpful Marketing Databases
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Hospitality & Tourism CompleteThis link opens in a new windowHospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with full text for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
If you Google, use the Advanced Search features (generally found under Settings).