Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Geography
Current Geographical Publications Provides a "current contents" listing from over 300 geographical journals found in the American Geographical Society Library.
Environment Complete Contains over 900 full-text journals and nearly 200 full-text monographs on environmental topics such as agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GeoRef Provides bibliographic and indexing access to the geoscience literature of the world, with coverage from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international.
GreenFILE A multidisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics.
Political Science Complete This resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
AccessScience AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
Salem Science This is the online version of seven scientific resources including Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, etc., and resources on forensic science
Science Reference Center Designed for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.