Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Recreation, Sport, & Park Administration
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Consumer Health Complete Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Education Full Text Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with full text for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
SPORTDiscus (8 user limit) With comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, physical fitness/wellness, exercise, sports medicine, and other topics, this database contains nearly 1,400,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Cost of Living Index Provides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services.
Draw It To Know It The database contains four principal components: tutorials, slides, a brain atlas, and muscle-nerve illustrations. The tutorials and slides focus on 24 subsections of overall human neuroanatomy. The brain atlas, allow users to view cross sections of human neuroanatomy. The muscle-nerve component provides a schematic of specific muscle nerve interaction along with labeled anatomical photographs to illustrate the area under discussion.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.