Subject Guides are currently being updated. Please pardon the look and functionality of some of these guides as they are being revised.

Skip to main content
MSU Logo

Theatre

Books in the Reference Collection

The following books are located in the Reference Department.  You can locate the books by their call numbers provided.  Note that “Ref” in front of the call number indicates that the item is shelved in the Reference collection and does not circulate.

Acting : an international encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref PN2035 .O84 2001

African American theater buildings
MSU Meyer Ref PN2270.A35 S58 2003

American musical theatre : a chronicle
MSU Music Ref ML1711 .B67 2001

Broadway: its history, people, and places: an encyclopedia
MSU Meyer Ref F128.65.T5 B56 2004

Contemporary authors: permanent series
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 771 .C61x

Contemporary authors: first revision
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 771 .C6

Contemporary authors: new revision series
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 771 .C612x

Contemporary literary criticism
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 771 .C62x

Contemporary North American film directors: a wallflower critical guide
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .C68 2002

Contemporary theatre, film & television
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 2285 .C58

Cyclopedia of literary places
MSU Meyer Ref PN56.S48C97 2003

Dictionary of literary biography
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 41 .D45x

Encyclopedia of early cinema
MSU Meyer Ref. PN1993.45 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of filmmakers
MSU Meyer Ref PN1998.2 .T53 2002

Encyclopedia of stage plays into film
MSU Meyer Ref PN1997.85.T544 2001

Enser’s Fflmed books and plays: a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-2001
MSU Meyer Ref PN 1997.85.E55 2003

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 1625 .M3

The New York Times Theater Reviews

MSU Meyer Ref. Overflow PN2266 . N48 (1870 - 1976)  (To Find Ask at Research Help Desk)

Nineteenth-century literature criticism
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 761 .N5

Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance
MSU Meyer Ref PN2035.O94 2003 2volumes

Routledge guide to broadway
MSU Meyer Ref PN2277.N5 B43 2007

Twentieth-century literary criticism
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 771 .C27

VideoHound's golden movie retriever
MSU Meyer Ref PN1992.95 .V554 2003

World encyclopedia of contemporary theatre
MSU Meyer Ref. PN 1861 .W67x

 

Recent Books

Finding Books

SWAN – Use SWAN to find books, government documents, maps, media, and other materials located in the library.

MOBIUS – is a statewide consortium of mostly college and university libraries. Search the MOBIUS catalog to borrow books from other consortium members and request books for delivery to MSU’s libraries. Most MOBIUS items arrive in 2-3 days. Go to Circulation for pick-up. If you fill out a notification form at Circulation, they will e-mail you when your item arrives.

WORLDCAT – is OCLC’s union catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. The database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries across North America, offers millions of bibliographic records, and includes records representing 400 languages. It is the Amazon.com of the library world. Interlibrary loan features are integrated into the database. 

Interlibrary Loan – If you cannot find the items you need at Meyer, or through MOBIUS, the Interlibrary Loan Department will order the materials you need. Some fees may apply. The online order form is at Interlibrary Loan, phone: 836-4540

Downloading E-Books

E-book