Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Subject
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
National Criminal Justice Abstracts Tutorial
Databases Best for Background Information
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowFeatures articles and biographies on such global topics as censorship, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, crime, health care, etc.
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights This link opens in a new windowProvides a balanced approach to gun control issues, including events, persons, laws, and organizations. It covers the subject of gun control, fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, the control of violence, and national security.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology This link opens in a new windowThe Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology contains short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.
9/11 Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowThe 9/11 Encyclopedia contains entries on people and events leading up to September 11, what actually took place on September 11, and the aftermath of September 11. The sequence of events on the day itself are covered in detail in various citations. Finally, the reasons why American intelligence and law enforcement agencies were unable to prevent September 11 are covered in considerable depth. Also of interest are the various conspiracy theories that have emerged in the last five years. The goal is to present to the reader a comprehensive look at all aspects of September 11 so that it can be understood in its context.
Remote Access to Resources
Accessing from off campus: When you are on campus, the databases and resources are readily accessible. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.