Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Conducting Research in Juvenile and Criminal Justice Settings by There has been a surge of recent interest by social work researchers in conducting research in criminal and juvenile justice settings. This is largely fueled by the tremendous increase in incarceration over the last several decades, with millions more in probation or parole at any given time. Rising expenditures strain state and local budgets and many individuals are spending much of their adolescence and young adulthood in correctional facilities. Despite the profound impact that the criminal justice system has on client populations served by social workers and related professions, there are few practical resources available to guide research in these settings. This Pocket Guide fills a critical gap in the literature by providing state-of-the-art techniques for researchers, graduate students, and agency administrators. Research in criminal justice settings represents unique challenges that require rigorous designs and a suite of methods, as well as the tools to navigate a complex system. With this accessible and practical guide, readers will encounter a wide range of study types and data sources, along with strengths and weaknesses to consider with each as they conceptualize, implement, and analyze their research. Crucially, the authors also provide advice on how to gain and manage access to these settings, as well as templates for preparing a successful Institutional Review Board application. Step-by-step procedures elucidate the use of extant and administrative data, and practical case examples, sample forms, and measures will help researchers implement their studies quickly and effectively.
Publication Date: 2012-05-11
Criminal Justice by This book examines various issues being contemplated by the criminal justice system, existing laws, and sentencing guidelines for criminal activity. Topics discussed include federal crime control issues in the 111th Congress; D.C. gun laws and proposed amendments; post-incarceration controls of convicted sex offenders; supervised release; criminal liability under wildlife laws for the 2010 oil spill; federal cocaine sentencing disparity and federal mandatory minimum sentences.
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Criminal Justice at the Crossroads by Over the past forty years, the criminal justice system in the United States has engaged in a very expensive policy failure, attempting to punish its way to public safety, with dismal results. So-called "tough on crime" policies have not only failed to effectively reduce crime, recidivism, and victimization but also created an incredibly inefficient system that routinely fails the public, taxpayers, crime victims, criminal offenders, their families, and their communities. Strategies that focus on behavior change are much more productive and cost effective for reducing crime than punishment, and in this book, William R. Kelly discusses the policy, process, and funding innovations and priorities that the United States needs to effectively reduce crime, recidivism, victimization, and cost. He recommends proactive, evidence-based interventions to address criminogenic behavior; collaborative decision making from a variety of professions and disciplines; and a focus on innovative alternatives to incarceration, such as problem-solving courts and probation. Students, professionals, and policy makers alike will find in this comprehensive text a bracing discussion of how our criminal justice system became broken and the best strategies by which to fix it.
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Criminal Justice Issues in the United States by The CRS Reports that comprise this book examines criminal justice issues we are currently facing in the United States. The first chapter examines mental incompetency and firearms ineligibility, and amendments to acts such as the Restoring Americans Healthcare Freedom Reconciliation Act, which were initiated after the mass shootings in San Bernardino in December 2015 and in Orlando in June 2016. The next report examines how domestic terrorism, hate crime and homegrown violent extremism relate (and differ) from one another and current trends. Additional reports include an overview on human trafficking trends, background, federal programs and issues for Congress on missing adults (age 18 and older). The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) reported that as of December 31, 2016, approximately 54,000 cases were pending. Finally, as a general rule, federal judges must impose a minimum term of imprisonment upon defendants convicted of various controlled substance (drug) offenses and drug-related offenses. The severity of those sentences depends primarily upon the nature and amount of drugs involved, the defendants prior criminal record, any resulting injuries or death, and in the case of the related firearms offenses, the manner in which the firearm was used. This last chapter revisits the mandatory minimum sentencing of federal drug offenses and offenders in the United States.
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Juvenile Crime and Justice by The authors of the 20 chapters in Juvenile Crime and Justice address various hotly debated topics along three loosely connected themes: prevention, prosecution, and corrections. Each author presents arguments both in favor of and opposed to various treatments, programs, and punishments, examining issues such as youth curfews, juveniles in adult courts, legal representation for juveniles, juvenile boot camps, group homes, out-of-home placement, and more. The chapters included cover the leading arguments pertaining to key topics in this field and point out where more research needs to be done-which, at present, includes many of the most controversial issues in juvenile justice policy. The Series: The five brief, issues-based books in SAGE Reference′s Key Issues in Crime & Punishment Series offer examinations of controversial programs, practices, problems or issues from varied perspectives. Volumes correspond to the five central subfields in the Criminal Justice curriculum: Crime & Criminal Behavior, Policing, The Courts, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice. Each volume consists of approximately 20 chapters offering succinct pron examinations, and Recommended Readings conclude each chapter, highlighting different approaches to or perspectives on the issue at hand. As a set, these volumes provide perfect reference support for students writing position papers in undergraduate courses spanning the Criminal Justice curriculum.
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
Policing by This book discusses strategies, management and potential risks of policing. Chapter One describes and examines the Policing Excellence and Prevention First' programs, and will discuss their successes and challenges since their introduction in 2009 in New Zealand. Chapter Two analyses the action of the Military Police of Minas Gerais (PMMG) during the World Cup protests carried out in 2013 and 2014 in the state capital Belo Horizonte, Brazil. Chapter Three examines the emerging problem of cyber terrorism. It x-rays the concept of cyber terrorism as well as the tenor of existing scholarship on how to police it; and discusses the scope and ramifications of the problem and proposes a model for effectively policing Africas terror-genic cyberspace.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by Federal, state, county, and municipal police forces all have their own codes of conduct, yet the ethics of being a police officer remain perplexing and are often difficult to apply in dynamic situations. The police misconduct statistics are staggering and indicate that excessive use of force comprises almost a quarter of misconduct cases, with sexual harassment, fraud/theft, and false arrest being the next most prevalent factors. The ethical issues and dilemmas in criminal justice also reach deep into the legal professions, the structure and administration of justice in society, and the personal characteristics of those in the criminal justice professions. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research. This two-volume set is available in both print and electronic formats. Features: Entries are authored and signed by experts in the field and conclude with references and further readings, as well as cross references to related entries that guide readers to the next steps in their research journeys. A Reader′s Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes, making it easy for readers to quickly identify related entries. A Chronology highlights the development of the field and places material into historical context; a Glossary defines key terms from the fields of law and ethics; and a Resource Guide provides lists of classic books, academic journals, websites and associations focused on criminal justice ethics. Reports and statistics from such sources as the FBI, the United Nations, and the International Criminal Court are included in an appendix. In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide, index, and cross references combine to provide effective search-and-browse capabilities. The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics provides a general, non-technical yet comprehensive resource for students who wish to understand the complexities of criminal justice ethics.Key Themes: History of Criminal Justice Ethics General Criminal Justice Ethics Police Ethics Legal Ethics Correctional Ethics Criminal Justice Cases and Controversies Technology, Crime, and Ethics Ethics and Critical Criminology
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Grantsmanship for Criminal Justice and Criminology by The history making US Crime Control Act of 1994 earmarked hundreds of millions of dollars in grant monies for a variety of justice related purposes turning crime control into a growing industry. This book directs the reader towards locating new sources of public and private funding as well as how to: formulate and state a problem that argues for funding; describe the methods for addressing the problem; clearly state measurable objectives; propose a comprehensive evaluation plan; succinctly describe the applicant′s qualifications; detail and defend a budget; and solicit meaningful letters of support.
Publication Date: 1999-09-24
The Assessment Center Handbook for Police and Fire Personnel by Over the years, the assessment center method of evaluating and selecting individuals to fill technical, supervisory, and management-level positions has proven to be highly successful in municipal police and fire departments. This fourth edition expands upon the concepts and principles presented in the previous editions and numerous chapters have been extensively edited and reformatted. New sections have been presented on the critical EMS problem as well as Public Education Exercises. The chapter "Best Practices in Assessment Center Exercises" provides many new examples of how candidates can achieve superior performance in many different kinds of assessment exercises. The text continues to offer invaluable insight concerning the reliability, cost-effectiveness, and objective methods for the selection of candidates for higher appointments. Included topics are the advantages of the assessment center; objections to assessment centers; typical and effective assessment exercises; center design and administration; selection and training of assessors; candidate evaluation, scoring, and feedback; preparing for an assessment center; best practices; greatest blunders; and ensuring candidate satisfaction with assessment methods. A substantial appendix offers many valuable resource tools: typical in-basket items; guidelines for scoring; group problem-solving exercises; tactical fire problem scenario; employee meeting exercise; citizen interview exercise; role-playing exercises; shift meeting exercise; community meeting exercise; room configurations, typical schedules; and candidate feedback questionnaires and forms. This fourth edition continues to be the most authoritative source for assessment center management.
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Race, Ethnicity and Law by This new volume of Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance addresses issues of race and ethnicity within the law and law-related phenomena. Even in today's so-called multicultural, post-racial world racial and ethnic concerns prevail in many aspects of modern law. Contributors to this volume examine racial and ethnic disparities in sentencing and punishment; the continued problematic nature of the African American experience within the US system; the criminalization of immigrants; racial inequities in the administration of drug laws; and the racial disparities that affect juvenile justice. This volume will be of interest to students and researchers in law, socio-legal studies, criminology, criminal justice, sociology and public policy.
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
The Encyclopedia of American Prisons by This reference covers the full gamut of the American penal system. From the early Pennsylvania and Auburn models, both of which drove many prisoners mad, to limited contemporary efforts to privatize prisons, this guide covers the entire history of prisons in America. Entries include important figures such as famous and infamous wardens, notable prisoners, prisons, escapes, prison riots, fires, prison society, convict labour, scandals and triumphs, reformers and terminology. It also covers key social issues connected to prisons such as overcrowding, mistreatment of prisoners, and the cost of maintaining prison programmes.
Call Number: HV9471 .S54 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice v.1-4 by A complete revision of the 1982 edition, the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
Call Number: HV6017 .E52 2002
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
Encyclopedia of Criminology by This three-volume work offers a comprehensive review of the pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices that comprise criminology and criminal justice. No longer just a subtopic of sociology, criminology has become an independent academic field of study that incorporates scholarship from numerous disciplines including psychology, political science, behavioral science, law, economics, public health, family studies, social work, and many others. The three-volume Encyclopedia of Criminology presents the latest research as well as the traditional topics which reflect the field's multidisciplinary nature in a single, authoritative reference work. More than 525 alphabetically arranged entries by the leading authorities in the discipline comprise this definitive, international resource. The pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices of the field are addressed with an emphasis on comparative criminology and criminal justice. While the primary focus of the work is on American criminology and contemporary criminal justice in the United States, extensive global coverage of other nations' justice systems is included, and the increasing international nature of crime is explored thoroughly. Providing the most up-to-date scholarship in addition to the traditional theories on criminology, the Encyclopedia of Criminology is the essential one-stop reference for students and scholars alike to explore the broad expanse of this multidisciplinary field.
Call Number: HV 6017 .E5295 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-02
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour by The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior is the first truly comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology. This unique Encyclopedia is separated into four volumes, covering Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues and Self Destructive and Disvalues Identity. There are over 550 entries each with 2,000 to 3,500 words covering a multitiude of topics related to criminology, deviant behavior, and other unusual sociological phenomena. Each entry includes a comprehensive definition of the term, concise practical information (such as tables and/or diagrams) and a bibliography; they are written in such a way to be accessible not only to professionals or those familiar with the terminology, but also to students and non-expert professionals. The editor-in-chief of this comprehensive Encylopedia is a leading figure in criminology and deviant behaviour. He is the former President of the Southern Sociological Association and the Mid-South Sociological Association. Dr. Bryant was a founding editor-in-chief of the journal Deviant Behavior and was a Fulbright Professor at the National Taiwan University. He has also been awarded numerous awards and has written countless articles.
Call Number: HV6017 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-10