Subject Guides are currently being updated. Please pardon the look and functionality of some of these guides as they are being revised.
Infant Through Grade 12 Resources
Process for Using Databases – 2015
How do I know what database to use for my article search?
1. Click on “Articles and Databases” from the Libraries Main Page
2. Click on your academic discipline and choose one of the databases listed
Do I do a Basic Search or Advanced Search? A “subject” or a “keyword” search?
1. Choose the “Advanced” search option; this gives you more term boxes to play with
2. Begin by filling in the first box with your search terms – this is a broad search that will give you an idea of the number of “hits” your term will find in the database.
3. Not enough results? Using the right-hand drop-down boxes, go to “TX All Text”. (To keep your subject terms connected, place them in quotation marks.)
4. For most research projects you will need a fairly recent scholarly or peer-reviewed article. Use the “Refine your results” box on the left of the screen to define the date range for your search and check the box to limit your search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
5. On EBSCO Host, you can further refine your results using check boxes and dropdowns in the lefthand column – click on “Subject” to see how the database has organized your topic for the set of articles you pulled up; click the relevant boxes that fit your topic and click the green “Update” button. You can repeat this step as many times as you like.
6. Click on the article title to get more information [in the “Abstract”] about that article
7. Found a great article and want more like it? There are two approaches:
a. See if there are any SUBJECTS assigned to it that might fit your topic; if so, you can click on the SUBJECT that matches and look at those results. This will pull you out of your original search and into a new search – repeat from step #3.
b. On EBSCO Host, once you’ve clicked on the article title, click on the green box in the left column that states: “Find Similar Results” using SmartText Searching. Again, this will pull you out of your original search and into a new search.
Can I quickly get a citation for an article?
1. Click on the Cite button to the right of the article – this row of buttons appears only when you have clicked on an article’s title. Click on the style name for further information!
I’m not getting any hits. What do I do?
1. Click on the THESAURUS key [also called SUBJECT TERMS] located towards the top of the screen [not used in JSTOR or MUSE]
2. Place your term in the correct box [not the search box!] and click
3. Go through the list of results and find the term(s) most useful for your topic
4. You might also check with fellow students, colleagues, or an encyclopedia article to pick up alternate terms for your topic
I found a great article, but it’s not available in full text. Now what?
1. Go to the TOUR button and click – this will send what is essentially a web crawler through all of the Libraries’ databases to see if another database contains the article you want. THIS IS NOT AVAILABLE IN ALL ERIC ENTRIES.
2. A screen will pop up giving you information – if the articles is available in another database that name will appear under “Full Text Options” – click on that database and follow the instructions
3. Sometimes you’ll get a list of dates and volume numbers for a particular journal – in this case, just go back to your original citation and find the date/volume/page number you need, then go back to the screen with the list and click on the proper journal; scroll down to find your article
4. Sometimes there will not be a full-text version of your article online; go to the “Get more options for this citation” area and click on “Catalog” to see if Meyer Libraries owns the print version of your journal IN THE RIGHT TIME FRAME [you’ll need to check – ask a librarian if you need help translating this!]
5. If there is a print version of the journal, use the call number given to find the bound journal; these are located on the Lower Level of Meyer Library. Make sure you have the volume number, month, and page numbers you need for your article.
I used the “TOUR” button, but got no results. Now what? Use Interlibrary Loan!
1. Go to the Libraries Main Page at http://library.missouristate.edu/
2. Under the middle column, “Services,” click on Interlibrary Loan
3. Click on “Place, Review, and Download Requests” – you’ll need to log in with your Bearmail id and password; if you’ve never used this, you’ll need to sign up
4. Click on “Article” and fill in all red-starred boxes
How do I save my searches and search results? Can I create an alert to notify me of new articles?
1. In EBSCO, once you have clicked on a title, the right-hand side of the screen will allow you to Add to folder. (You can also add from the list of results that you browse through. The Add to folder icon is at the bottom of each entry.) At the end of your session click on the Folder icon in the top blue bar to see your saved articles. Place a checkmark by each article you want to print, save as a file, email, or export. (You can select all articles using the checkbox at the top.)
2. You can start your own account that will open each time you use EBSCOhost databases. Click on the Sign In icon at the top of the page in the blue bar, and to the right of the LOG IN button click on Create a new Account.
3. Once your account is created and you have saved a few items, click on the Folder icon at the top of the page in the blue stripe to view your items. On the left-hand side of the screen, you can create folders within your folder by clicking on the New folder icon. You can organize a number of topics using subfolders in this manner.
4. If you’ve gotten great results from a search, you can create an Alert that will let you know via email or RSS when new articles with similar subject terms are added to the database. Click on Alert/Save/Share in the blue bar at the top of the results screen to set up the alert.
How can I be positive that an article is scholarly/peer-reviewed?
1. From the alphabetical list of databases on the Articles and databases page, scroll down to choose Ulrich’s Periodical Directory. Input the title for which you need this information. For common titles, you may have to scroll through to find the exact one.
I have results, but really want a ‘quantitative’ study – how do I narrow down my results to only these studies?
1. If you are using a database that allows you to “Search Within Results” [see #3 above], place the term ‘quantitative’ in that box
2. If your database does not allow you to “Search Within Results” you can add the term in another box [this is why using the Advanced Search is helpful] – remember to use the “AND” connector in the dropdown box box and use the right-hand drop-down to go to ‘TX All Text’
How can I tell if you own a specific journal? I have a citation and need to find the article.
1. From the Libraries main page, click on “Journal & Magazine Titles (TDNet)” under the “Find” column on the left.
2. Fill in the journal name. Scroll down the results page to see if it is available in print or online. Watch for embargoes! Click on the database title for online access.
3. In most databases, you can also search for topics within the publication you have chosen.
Where do I find the “Discover” box that allows me to search for articles, books, etc.?
1. From the Libraries main page, click on “Journal & Magazine Titles (TDNet). Use the "Sort by" box on the right; the "Filter results" box is to the left.
Can I use Google Scholar to search for articles?
1. Yes. Go to http://scholar.google.com and, if you are off-campus, click on “Settings”
2. Click on “Library links” and fill in the box with “Missouri State University”; click the “Save” button
3. Use the drop-down arrow to bring up the Advanced Scholar Search screen; fill in the boxes carefully, as this will determine the success of your search
4. The Missouri State items will bring you back to our databases; remember to look for appropriate subjects, use TOUR, etc., when you return.
5. For some good search tips for Google Scholar, go to http://www.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html
Can I search for articles from home?
1. Yes – you’ll need to input your Bearmail id and password to access the databases
Please feel free to contact I-G12 to make an appointment for a reference consultation!
Below are a number of online indexes that will help you locate articles in the field of education. You can find everything from research results to classroom management tips to ideas for lesson plans using these resources.
If you need assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us (see our information in the bar on the right).
For off-campus access, enter your BearPass login and password to access the databases.
Academic Search Complete - the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection.
Education Full Text - indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed. Full-text coverage of articles from over 350 journals ranges as far back as 1996.
ERIC - contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC Documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals.
JSTOR - one of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is "rolling", i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 80 percent of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.
Project MUSE - provides access to over 420 searchable full text journals in a broad range of disciplines, particularly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, and has significant strengths in literature, history, political science and sociology. Retrospective full text access typically ranges back to 2000.
PsycARTICLES - provides "full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group." The database contains more than 140,000 articles from 66 journals, with coverage (as far back as 1894) for most of the APA journals from volume 1 to present. From 1985 onward, articles are provided in both HTML and PDF format; prior to 1985, articles are only in PDF.
PsycINFO - contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Citation and Style Guides
This Subject Guide is arranged by citation style. Click on a tab to select the style you wish to use.
Disclaimer - These do not always produce perfect citations. Be sure to double-check with the actual style guide.