Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Public Health
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowFour medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowConsumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe UN iLibrary contains approximately 9,000 titles and adds around 500 more each year. These documents range from articles, manuals, papers, journals, books, videos, and more. The documents contain research covering the United Nations’ priorities, for example, agriculture, economic and social development, human rights, international trade and finance, and world health issues such as COVID-19.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Public Health in the 21st Century This link opens in a new windowAddresses public health issues globally, including health care policy issues and public health education.
Salem Health This link opens in a new windowSalem Health is the online version of five resources: Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowDesigned for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.