Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Criminology
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of more than 200,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state, and local government research reports and journal articles from 1975 to present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
Using JSTOR Video
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology This link opens in a new window The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology contains short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window Contains a collection of documents relating to homeland security policy, strategy, security-related research, and organizational management.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Features articles and biographies on such global topics as censorship, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, crime, health care, etc.
- Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism This link opens in a new window Covers terrorism and its impact on economics, health, religion, culture, etc., as well as the ethical issues dealing with terrorism.
