Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Subject Specific Search Box
Individual Databases Best for Modern and Classical Languages
Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Humanities International Complete Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography Consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in more than 4,400 journals and series from 1926-present.
Project Muse Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Oxford English Dictionary A guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over a half million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive encyclopedia and reference product. It includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Oxford Reference Online (1 user limit) Provides over 225 fully-indexed, cross-searchable subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Remote Access to Resources
Accessing from off campus: When you are on campus, the databases and resources are readily accessible. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.