Welcome to the World Languages and Cultures Subject Guide!
Meyer Library Information
Contact
Contact us at 417-836-4700 for assistance, or see Ask A Librarian to email questions or set up a research consultations!
Street Address:
850 S. John Q. Hammons Pkwy
Springfield, MO 65897
Parking
Visitors may park in the visitor's parking lot at the corner of National Avenue and Monroe Street (lot 13) or other metered parking on campus. The closest metered parking to the library is in Lot 19 on John Q. Hammons Pkwy.
Visitors may park in reserved lots, commuter and residence hall lots without a permit from 5:00 p.m. Friday to 7:00 a.m. Monday, except where posted otherwise.
Best Bets
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology. One of the distinct characteristics of JSTOR is that its coverage is rolling, i.e., all of the journals provide full text of articles beginning with volume 1 of each title up to about the past three to five years. The Libraries have individual subscriptions to about 65% of these titles to provide coverage of current issues of most of the journals.
- Oxford Reference Online (1 user limit) This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from over 225 of Oxford University Press's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. These are all combined in this online service to create one integrated and searchable e-reference book collection. Subjects covered include art and architecture, bilingual dictionaries, biological sciences, classics, computing, earth and environmental sciences, economics and business, English dictionaries and thesauri, English language reference, food and drink, history, law, literature, medicine, military history, mythology and folklore, names and places, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social sciences, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. Of these titles, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
Discover@MSU Search Box
Google Scholar
Librarian
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.