It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts to the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Political Science CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
Use connector words
cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun RightsThis link opens in a new windowProvides a balanced approach to gun control issues, including events, persons, laws, and organizations. It covers the subject of gun control, fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, the control of violence, and national security.
Encyclopedia of WarThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of War covers the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day across the entire globe including topics ranging from tribal warfare to chemical warfare, pacifism, and war crimes.
Political Handbook of the WorldThis link opens in a new windowThis authoritative resource provides government and political information for over 200 countries in the world.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.