Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Digital Map Collection
Digital maps from 1100 to the present. According to the web page, "This category includes maps that typically portray the physical environment and a variety of cultural elements for a geographic area at a particular point in time."
Library of Congress Subject Collections with Maps
Library of Congress has many collections that contain maps. Here researchers can search for maps by keyword or explore maps within different subject collection areas.
National Geographic has been publishing maps since the first issue of its magazine in 1888. The website states that it has available more than 800 maps to explore or to use for research.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Thousands of detailed maps of American cities from 1800 to the present that include more than 1100 for cities in the state of Missouri. Provides insights into various aspects of urban America.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Digital version of a 38 volume printed set. Contains 6,300 primary source documents arranged in ten subject areas including foreign relations, Indian Affairs, finances, commerce, navigation, military affairs, and other executive and legislative documents.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994, is a digitization of the set. It's the predecessor of the American State Papers. It contains more than 350,000 publications, over 52,000 maps, and thousands of illustrations, tables, and charts.
Archives Library Information Center / National Archives
Designed to provide information to the Administration Research Archive staff and researchers nationwide with U.S. government information on a national, state, regional, and local level. An excellent compendium of primary documents of all types and gives a list of other federal sites and non-federal sites.
U.S. Census History
The Census Bureau National Processing Center maintains copies of the 1910 to 2010 census records. However, census of population & housing are not available for 72 years making currently available census records only available up to the 1940 census. Individuals can request their own census records or that of his or her heirs (process described on this web page).
Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS)
"ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly Official Records...The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993..."