Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Music
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- Music Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive guide to all styles and genres of music covering over 700 international music periodicals from 1970 to present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window A bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 100 languages from thousands of journals, with coverage from 1967 to present.
Streaming Media Databases
- Films on Demand (All MSU campuses) This link opens in a new window Available for all MSU campuses and contains over 35,000 highly interdisciplinary streaming videos.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Allows streaming access to thousands of musical selections, primarily classical music, but also world music, classic pop and rock music, as well as Chinese orchestral music.
- Naxos Music Library - Jazz Collection (5 user limit) This link opens in a new window Allows streaming access to thousands of jazz musical selections, primarily contemporary jazz, but also from jazz legends.
- Naxos Video Library (5 user limit) This link opens in a new window Over 2,500 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, concerts, and documentaries.
- On The Boards OntheBoards.tv is a first-of-its-kind portal for viewing full-length, high-quality performance films on your TV, desktop, or laptop. It functions as a streaming subscription service and an archive for ground-breaking artistic projects and contemporary performances.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Grove Music Online (1 user limit) This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001 ed.), along with four other music resources, including opera and jazz.
- IPA Transcriptions and Literal Translations of Songs and Arias This link opens in a new window Provides translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Musical Theater Songs This link opens in a new window Database for musical theater repertoire. Search 11,000+ titles spanning 150 years of shows, custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags, get direct links to sheet music and recordings.
- Oxford Music Online (3 user limit) This link opens in a new window This is the platform for Grove Music Online and two other electronic resources.
