Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Childhood Education
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Contains nearly 520 full-text education journals for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that "contains over +2 million MARC fiction and non-fiction records for children's and young adult media as well as more than 400,000 quality reviews for many of these titles accessed in a single search.
- Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Covers both early childhood development and education in the United States and in ten other countries including Australia, Brazil, China, France, Italy, Japan, South Africa, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.
- Encyclopedia of Mental Health This link opens in a new window Provides easy-to-understand information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Special Education This link opens in a new window This resource overs both theories and practical applications, as well as assessment instruments, in the field of special education.
- Wiley Handbook of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy This link opens in a new window This resource provides information, theories, approaches, and training resources for persons working with mental health disorders.
