Gathering Background Information
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with access to videos and animations, images for diagnosis, self-assessment, and medical textbooks.
- STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (Varies from 1-5 users) This link opens in a new windowAn easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowPerfect for healthcare educators, students, and practitioners. Find practice changing updates, drug information/interactions, patient education, calculators, and specialty topics.
Primary Databases for Evidence Based Practice
- CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit) This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Four medical databases which contain results and reviews on the health care effects of evidence-based clinical trials and research studies.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world.
