Skip to main content
Subject Guides are currently being updated. Please pardon the look and functionality of some of these guides as they are being revised.
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Book Searches in the MSU Collection
E-Books in the MSU Collection: Leadership
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Since we think university students are the cream of the crop, it is important to ask whether or not they thrive well. To what extent can university students in Hong Kong develop in a holistic manner? How should we nurture university students to become the leaders and talents of tomorrow? Leadership and intrapersonal development are inherent requirements for university students in Hong Kong, transposing as 3-credit courses that each student must complete in order to graduate. To meet this requirement, a subject entitled Tomorrows Leaders was developed and piloted twice during the 2010-2012 academic years, which was offered to over 2,100 students annually. The design of the subject, curriculum materials, reflection of the teachers and evaluation findings in connection with this subject are presented in this book.
Publication Date: 2005-12-20
Success in project management requires the project manager to operate at many levels and deal with a myriad of internal and external stakeholders. Leadership in the project management requires the vision, ability and courage to guide individuals and teams to rewarding experiences. Project Managers often expect to achieve a great deal, but need to realise they can achieve little without the efforts of others. This book focuses on the complexity and issues of leadership in project management. The book provides: * assist project managers in their understanding of what leadership is and how leadership influences the outcome of project success * demonstrate how empowerment can be used to achieve results and positive project outcomes * demonstrate how to engage and influence others to achieve project goals * define the theoretical and practical boundaries of decision making within the context of multiple stakeholder projects * provide an insight into what it takes to build high performance project teams * provide a communication taxonomy for managing multiple stakeholders and demonstrates how conflict should be managed
Peace Leadership by In our progressively changing environment, it's of crucial importance to deepen our understanding of peace between people (and amongst institutions) and how leadership can enhance that "leading for peace." Peace Leadership: Self-Transformation to Peace offers a practical framework for all leaders (including business and political leaders) on how to attain peace between people. It reveals emerging research linking global leadership concepts within peace development research. This research is urgently needed for global leadership to understand the leadership role within conflict resolution or peacebuilding practitioners. WHAT MAKES THIS BOOK SO UNIQUE... This book offers leaders deeper insight into the concept of "peace leadership" and how to implement it. Specific tools and initiatives on how to become a highly-effective peace leader are included. Whilst highlighting peace developers as leaders, this book explores emotional, social, and communal intelligence as building-blocks to transform conflict from violence to reconciliation and peace. The book is presented in four sections: 1. Peace leadership in perspective: Discussions on the nature and meaning of peace leadership, important building blocks for peace leadership (emotional, social and communal intelligence), and a peace leadership-in-action model (which forms the basis of the book). 2. Implementation strategies focus on lead self, lead with others and lead communities. Lead self includes: leading peace through self, others and the community, the role of wisdom and spirituality in leading self and others, and individual, social and cultural inertia preventing humanity from attaining peace. Lead others includes: leadership theories which support peace leadership, the improvement of cultural intelligence amongst peace leaders, and women's role in peace building. Lead communities includes: peace leadership in the public and private sectors, healthcare for the vulnerable and its meaning and contribution towards peace leadership, and working from helplessness to serving the community. 3. Tools and initiatives to become a highly effective peace leader, including information and communication technological innovations for peace leaders and sport as a tool for peace building. 4. Concluding thoughts. Concluding thoughts are given, with the emphasis on what we have learned and looking ahead. This editorial book provides a significant contribution within the emerging peace leadership discipline as the international community, non-governmental organisations, and the public and private sectors struggle to formulate sustainable peace initiatives at the tribal, local and communal societal level. WHO SHOULD READ THIS BOOK? Peace Leadership: Self-Transformation to Peace is urgently needed for peace developers in today's conflictual environment. It's a must-read for anyone involved in leadership, conflict resolution and peace development, as well as scholar-practitioners and educators to examine best practices through a leadership lens. It's also an essential handbook for: Academics, researchers, the leadership development fraternity, peace organisations, negotiators, think tanks, the diplomatic core, government institutions, NGOs, consultants and advisors, security companies, the private sector and trade unions.
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Team Leadership by If you're a team leader asking the question: How do I make my team better?, then Team Leadership is the book that provides the answers. Team Leadership will assist team leaders and members to become more effective by helping them to understand teams better. This book brings together theories and research on team development, team functioning, managing teams, team growth and more! It also describes tools and techniques that can be used to raise the performance levels of teams and help them to function optimally. Team Leadership is different from the many other books offering tools for teams, in that: It gives insight into team behaviour from an academic point of view and especially what current science tells us what works well to improve teams. It links to practice in its aim to be practical and helpful in daily organisational life. It gives leaders an opportunity to learn and grow, and therefore also has a developmental focus. It offers a careful selection of theories, tools and techniques to be applied in many contexts and at various stages of a team's development. Team Leadership is one of the most comprehensive books available on the science of team development, offering practical insights into: Developmental Frameworks * Constituent Frameworks * Team Assessment * Team Design * Team Roles * Team Tasks * Teamwork * Conflict Management * Communication * Emergent States * Motivational States * Motivation Theory * Team Leadership * Tasks of Team Leaders * Coaching * Teambuilding * And More!
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Humble Leadership by
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
The more traditional form of leadership that is based on immobile hierarchies is growing increasingly outdated and ineffective. Without the ability to actually communicate with their peers, leaders become alienated from their followers and productivity and quality are sacrificed. Authors Edgar Schein and Peter Schein recognize this reality and call for a reimagined form a leadership that coincides with emerging trends of relationship building, complex group work, and diverse workforces. Gaining a deeper understanding of the constantly evolving complexities of interpersonal, group and even intergroup relationships requires shifting our focus towards the process of group dynamics and collaboration. The humble leadership paradigm stresses the importance of studying of how things are being done through collaboration and humility. This space of collaboration is often where invention and brand-new ways of getting things done are created, rather than in the tunnel vision of new ideas of products, markets, or production methods. The future of leadership is dependent on working relationships that are trusting and open. Humble leaders don't shy away from human connection in the workplace but rather see it as an opportunity for growth and success.
Gracious Leadership by
Publication Date: 2018-01-10
In today's cut-throat, get-ahead-at-all-costs world, the idea of showing basic decency towards one another has sadly been pushed to the side. Yet, the power of respectful, positive leadership can be more impactful now than ever before. Gracious leaders stand apart because they have a better way. Leaders who listen with purpose, recognize they don't have all the answers, and demonstrate uncompromising respect to all can--and will--lead their teams to peak performance. In Gracious Leadership: Lead Like You've Never Led Before, Janet Smith Meeks describes why the key ingredients of Gracious Leadership are proven "must have" strategies to optimize organizational results. Meeks explains that teams of all types, within any industry, can and will reap great rewards by displaying respectful behaviors as they seek to reach greater heights. This holds true at home, on the basketball court, in the C-suite, or in the boardroom. Through stories of her own personal journey, as well as anecdotes about those she's encountered along the way, Meeks shares lessons learned while offering candid advice to help leaders improve. In a dog-eat-dog world where leadership crises are prevalent and the disrespect of subordinates is widespread, Meeks offers a different path. She shows how to be tough and kind, straightforward and compassionate, driven and grateful, all while being a fully respectful leader. Gracious Leadership... it's not soft stuff... it's a fresh and strategic approach for current and aspiring leaders who seek to excel while restoring common decency and respect within all aspects of their lives.
Essential Leadership by
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Essential Leadership is a practical, accessible book that tackles theory and practice in an integrated and stimulating way. You are encouraged to engage with a wide range of leadership theories and frameworks as well as rate your own leadership skills and qualities, make realistic self-development plans and start to experiment with new or different approaches. Rather than offering one best way forward or becoming overly theoretical, this book is a pragmatic resource for new and experienced leaders looking to navigate the leadership literature and start to fully realize their own leadership potential. Supported by exercises, practical examples, rigorous self-assessments, advice and suggestions, Essential Leadership offers an important guide for those currently working, or planning to work, in a 21st century business environment with all its complexity and uncertainty. It provides an over-arching framework of five essential leadership qualities that can be refined and combined as leaders grow, allowing them to be particularly responsive to the business context. The book allows readers to discover and develop their own leadership qualities, and master them through understanding, experimentation, feedback and reflection. Cutting-edge research into Millennial Leadership is also included, as are sections on developing your leadership maturity throughout life, and how leadership culture forms and changes. Online supporting resources include lecture slides and an instructor's manual.
Designed Leadership by
Publication Date: 2017-07-18
Great leaders aspire to manage "by design"--with a sense of purpose and foresight. But too few leaders incorporate the proven practices and principles of the design disciplines. Lessons learned from the world of design, when applied to management, can turn leaders into collaborative, creative, deliberate, and accountable visionaries. Design thinking loosens the mind and activates innovation. It creates the conditions for employees to thrive and for all kinds of businesses to succeed. In Designed Leadership, the strategic-design scholar and urban-systems designer Moura Quayle shares her plan for integrating design and leadership, translating processes, principles, and practices from years of experience into tools of change for professional leaders. Quayle describes the key concepts of designed leadership, such as "make values explicit" and "learn from natural systems," showing how strategic design can spur individual creativity and harness collective energy. For managers at any level, Designed Leadership uses original visuals and field-tested examples to teach the kind of thinking, theorizing, and practicing that result in long-lasting high performance in the workplace and beyond.
The Leadership Odyssey by
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
The Odyssey of Leadership is filled with great uncertainty and is taken by only a few. It takes an exceptional effort to rise from being a good leader to a great leader. This book provides a unique roadmap for leaders and office bearers in all walks of life, aspiring to become great leaders.
Leadership in Action by
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Drawing on almost forty years of leading Australian men and women in high-stakes combat overseas and tough times at home, Cantwell cuts to the core of practical leadership and exposes the skills needed to succeed. This long-overdue book, filled with examples from hands-on leadership experience, breaks down the barriers to building trust and achieving world-class results with superiors, colleagues and team mates in any working environment. It reveals simple but highly effective leadership techniques that work in the real world.
Publication Date: 2015-08-10
NEW EDITION, REVISED AND UPDATED Harness the Science of Positive Influence Just as the Wright Brothers combined science and practice to finally realize the dream of flight, Ryan and Robert Quinn combine research and personal experience to demonstrate how to reach a psychological state that lifts us and those around us to greater heights of achievement, integrity, openness, and empathy. The updated edition of this award-winning book-honored by Utah State University's Huntsman School of Business, Benedictine University, and the LeadershipNow web site --includes two new chapters, one describing a learning process and social media platform the Quinns created to help people experience lift and the other sharing new insights into tapping into human potential.
Responsible Leadership and Ethical Decision-Making by
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
This book is comprised of international author perspectives from the 2016 Australian Association for Professional and Applied Ethics (AAPAE) conference, hosted by the University of South Australia in Adelaide. The volume brings to life a number of the conference themes including corporate social responsibility, culture, academic integrity, vulnerability, health, military ethics, education, leadership, sustainability and philosophy and addresses concerns of many leading applied ethicists.
E-Books in the MSU Collection: Various Topics
Learning for Organizational Development by Learning for Organizational Development presents how to design, deliver and evaluate effective learning and development (L&D) programmes. This definitive guide to L&D's function in enhancing individual performance and organizational success is a core text for those studying for L&D qualifications such as the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) Intermediate level as well as a useful handbook for L&D professionals looking to further their understanding of the latest developments. Complete with case studies and reflective questions to aid comprehension, Learning for Organizational Development considers the strategic business function of L&D for communicating the vital contribution that it makes to both individual performance and organizational success. It explores the role of L&D in talent development, showing how to support line managers in developing their people to drive retention and attraction. It also addresses the importance of developing the leadership capability within the organization, and provides practical guidance and examples of what works.
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Leaders As Teachers Action Guide by Harness the power of the leaders in your organisation to grow your learning culture. Expanding on the leadership development approach introduced in the 2009 bestselling title, Leaders as Teachers, this new action guide shares the experiences of companies where "leaders as teachers" is the driving principle for leadership development. Leaders as Teachers Action Guide: Proven Approaches for Unlocking Success in Your Organization presents easy to use instructions, as well as supporting research-based data, for developing top-performing leaders. This book will provide you with: case studies and success stories to inspire your programme tools to help determine the best approach for your organisation templates to design learning programmes that work for your leader-teachers.
Publication Date: 2014-06-16
ATD's Action Guide to Talent Development by In ATD's Action Guide to Talent Development, industry expert and bestselling author Elaine Biech lays out an eight-step framework to position your organization for the future. This is the companion volume to ATD's Foundations of Talent Development: Launching, Leveraging, and Leading Your Organization's TD Effort, and it offers practical questions, organizational assessments, and tips for each step you must guide your organization through. Biech also presents the newest thinking from industry practitioners and luminaries in leadership and development.
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Talent Magnet by There is a long-standing truth in the world of organizations- those with the most talented people have the greatest chance of winning. But based on extensive research Mark Miller conducted with Aon, one of the world's largest and most respected human resource consulting practices, he discovered that what keeps and attracts top talent is different than what attracts and keeps typical talent. In Talent Magnet, Miller uses a business fable about Blake Brown, a CEO struggling with winning the war for talent, and his 16 year old son who is trying to help a village in Africa secure clean water, to reveal what top talent really want- * A Better Boss * A Brighter Future * A Bigger Story This book pulls back the curtain on what leaders can do to attract the very best talent--a strategic need virtually every leader faces.
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Performance Basics by Understanding performance improvement is imperative. Have you noticed the trend toward performance in your profession? It's happening around the world. With organizations placing greater emphasis on results and accountability, having knowledge of performance is critical. In the revised second edition of Performance Basics learning strategist Joe Willmore guides you through human performance improvement--or HPI--and delves into major changes in performance analysis. See the Performance DNA process you know from ATD's Human Performance Improvement program at work and discover why focusing on performance improvement is so important to organizational success. How do I conduct a front-end analysis? When should I focus on accomplishments? What is the importance of root cause analysis? And when do I administer formative, summative, and ROI analyses? If you're grappling with any of these questions, you'll find answers and step-by-step guidance inside. Get the results you need to generate organizational improvement and ensure you're ready for your foray into performance consulting. You'll find this book to be a useful tool. About the Series: ATD's Training Basics series offers techniques, examples, and exercises that help you perfect your skills and apply them on the job. Every title is designed to be a quick, concise crash course on a crucial training topic and features instruction for practical day-to-day application.
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Mastering Organizational Change Management by Over the past few decades, we've seen the discipline known as project management (PM) evolve, and witnessed huge growth in its use by organizations to achieve their goals and objectives. We have also seen a new profession known as business analysis (BA) develop from a variety of work previously performed by project managers, systems analysts, engineers, and other professional roles due to the need to improve the success rates of projects and programs. With the steady evolution and growth of this new role, we've learned that effective PM and BA collaboration can improve success rates dramatically. More recently, thought leaders and industry insiders have begun to recognize the synergies of these roles with the discipline known as change management, and the opportunity for even more success. Early indications show the success rates for strategic projects using change management regularly average around 70%.Mastering Organizational Change Management provides a practical model for organizational change professionals, senior business analysts, project and program management leaders, and executives to follow in developing and executing any important change initiative or major enterprise transformation effort. It will also show how to measure and analyze the effectiveness of change initiatives and the activities used to achieve successful results.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01