Music Journals Online

Articles on American composers, performers, publishers, institutions, events, and the music industry, as well as book and recording reviews, bibliographies, and discographies.
2009-present (1983-2012 on JSTOR)

Contains general interest articles about American music of all types.
2009-present

Publishes articles, notices, reviews and commentary on all aspects of Canadian folk and traditional music.
1982-present

Aims to raise international standards of music therapy knowledge and practice.
2009-present

Presents selected articles and research on music education aimed at improving curriculum and instruction in Canadian schools.
2006-present

Aimed at amateur and professional musicians and music enthusiasts.
1999-present

Seeks to be both a scholarly and pedagogical publication accessible to all instrumental music educators.
2006 present

Provides information about Black music research and a calendar of coming meetings, performances and festivals.
2010-present

El oído pensante tiene como propósito promover la discusión en torno a los dilemas teóricos, metodológicos y epistemológicos de las investigaciones realizadas sobre diversas manifestaciones musicales. Sus páginas acogen trabajos inéditos en español, portugués o inglés, que se enmarquen en disciplinas tales como la etnomusicología, la antropología y la sociología de la música, los estudios de música popular, la musicología y los estudios culturales, entre otras.

Promoting, supporting, and producing scholarship in all areas of Canadian music studies.
2008-2008

Covers all areas of American music, including art music, popular music and music of the oral tradition.
2006-present

Covers the following disciplines: the arts, music, musicology, music theory, music history, ethnomusicology, music cognition, music analysis, composition, music education, music performance, opera, popular music studies, cultural studies.
2007-present

explores the historical, ethnographic,and sociocultural dimensions of Latin American music in Latin American social groups, including the Puerto Rican, Mexican, Cuban, and Portugese populations in the United States.
2001-present (1980-2012 on JSTOR)

Música Oral del Sur es una revista internacional dedicada a la música de transmisión oral, desde el ámbito de la antropología cultural aplicada a la música y tendiendo puentes desde la música de tradición oral a otras manifestaciones artísticas y contemporáneas.

Focuses on American roots music indigenous to New Orleans and Louisiana; features interviews, reviews, club listings, festival information, and schedules.
2006-present

Discusses traditional American string band music and related traditions, with an emphasis on the tradition of the American South
2009-present

Aims to widely promote musical knowledge by exploring practical, theoretical, historical, political, cultural and/or interdisciplinary aspects of music while fostering innovative technical perspectives with primary focus to provide a broad overview of the most representative research on music in Brazil.

La Revista Musical Chilena ha identificado como sus principales áreas de interés, la cultura musical de Chile, considerando tanto los aspectos musicales propiamente tales, como el marco histórico y sociocultural, desde la perspectiva de la musicología y de otras disciplinas relacionadas. Incorpora contenidos vinculados a compositores, ejecutantes e instrumentos de la música de arte, folclórica, popular urbana e indígena, al igual que artículos atinentes a manuscritos, investigadores, aspectos teóricos y modelos musicológicos, además de nuevos enfoques de la musicología como disciplina, tanto en Chile como en América Latina.

Provides a timely and informal means by which members of the Society for American Music communicate with each other.
2006-present

Articles, not previously published, pertaining to contextualized studies of African music and related arts.
1954-2009

Aims to combine ethnomusicological, musicological, music educational and performance-based research in a unique way to promote the musical arts on the African continent.
2008-present (18 mth delay)

Acts as a a unified African voice for African music research.
2007-present (18 mth delay)

All aspects of the performing arts of Asia and their cultural context.
2005-present (1968-2012 on JSTOR)

Articles cover voice science and physiology, vocal pedagogy, music literature, voice therapy and performance practice and style.
2006-2008

Presents perspectives on Indonesian and international gamelan music and related performing arts.
2010-2010

Dedicated to the study of the music and cultures of indigenous and Euro/Asian/North American migrant groups in the Pacific since the late 1800s.
2006-2008

Publishes articles on the teaching and learning of music, with a special focus on the Victorian and Australian music education community.
2007-present

Focuses on contemporary and classical Czech music.
2006-present

Peer-reviewed journal of the Austrian Musicological Society (ÖGMW), the largest association of music scholars and corresponding institutions in Austria. Focuses on Austrian music studies and on research related to this cultural region.

Main goal is to promote and present music of Serbia and Montenegro and theoretical concepts about music ¿ musicological, ethnomusicological, analytical, philosophical, aesthetic, theory of media, etc.; deals with provocative issues on music, etc.
2007-present

Covers music therapy in the nordic & Baltic countries; includes philosophical articles, qualitative & quantitative research articles, classical articles, dialogues, reviews, texts from practice, and overviews of new texts in the field of music therapy.
2007-present (18 mth delay)

Contains articles about events, instruction, and general interest to those interested in the nyckelharpa, a Swedish folk instrument.
2008-present

Publishes informaton on music and culture in mid-Europe.
2009-present

Presents essays, reports, reviews, and interventions on problems and aspects of Italian musicology and the study of Italian music.
2004-present

Offers a wide variety of perspectives from many disciplines within the musicological field, but concentrates on the presentation of articles related to Swedish or Nordic music.
2006-present

Studies directly connected with specific volumes of Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich as well as studies in the wider field of Austrian music history, "Austria" being defined by historical context.
1913-2010

Offers a wide variety of perspectives from many disciplines within the musicological field, but concentrates on the presentation of articles related to Swedish or Nordic music.
2006-present