Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for this Subject
A to Z MapsOnline This comprehensive database of over 60,000+ maps includes 5,000+ high-resolution modern maps of the world, regions, countries and states. There are outline maps, political maps, physical maps, population maps, environmental maps, climate change maps, and other thematic maps from NASA, USGS, USFS, NOAA and other scientific, technical, and conservation organizations. A to Z MapsOnline.com maps are royalty-free and may be used for reports, posters, multi-media presentations, and just about any other use imaginable.
GeoRef Provides bibliographic and indexing access to the geoscience literature of the world, with coverage from 1785 to present for North America, and 1933 to present for international.
ScienceDirect eJournal Collection Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Nations of the World Provides updated information in areas of politics, economics, and business for every country in the world.
Salem Science This is the online version of seven scientific resources including Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, etc., and resources on forensic science
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Columbia Gazetteer of the World is a geographical dictionary of places and locations published by Columbia University Press. Its entries include information on demography, physical geography, political boundaries, industry, trade, and service activities.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.