Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Practices for Occupational Therapy in Schools by Nearly 20% of occupational therapy practitioners work in school settings, requiring current, effective, and evidence-based best practices for students. Reflecting the extensiveness of occupational therapy practice in schools, the second edition of this bestseller contains best practices from preschool to postsecondary transitions, from ADLs to driving. The latest edition of Best Practices for Occupational Therapy in Schools promotes best school practices, education, research, and policy and provides school occupational therapy practitioners with current, effective information to use in their daily practices. This comprehensive text details working with multiple student populations, transition planning, assistive technology, enhancing student participation, and work readiness. Appendixes provide resources for educators using the text in the classroom, documentation, assessment tools, liability issues, and templates for the occupational profile and occupational therapy intervention plan.
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The Occupational Therapy Handbook: Practice Education by Written specifically for occupational therapy students, newly qualified occupational therapists and educators and is a useful reference guide for academic tutors. The Occupational Therapy Handbook reflects modern day occupational therapy practice and education. The editors have created a current user-friendly text book specifically in relation to Practice Education, particularly in light of the developing role of occupational therapy in current practice. Many developments in practice education have re-focussed the value that the profession places on occupation, particularly in role emerging placements and expanding areas of practice. These developments are captured in this text. Other texts that have been produced have predominantly had a multi-professional focus and not addressed all the key occupational therapy issues in the depth required. There is always something to learn, irrespective of your level of expertise.
Publication Date: 2012
Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Productive Aging for Community-dwelling Older Adults by In the United States, the population of older adults continues to increase, and by 2030, an estimated 20% of the U.S. population will be aged 65 or older. Additionally, the population aged 85 or older is projected to more than double, to about 14.6 million, by 2040 (Administration for Community Living, 2018). The Baby Boomer generation and the current generation of older adults are living longer than previous generations; in addition to increased longevity, many older adults have chronic conditions affecting their ability to age productively. Most adults aged 65 and over live in the community; only about 3% reside in institutional settings. This Practice Guideline provides an overview of the occupational therapy process for community-dwelling older adults. It is based on systematic reviews of the evidence for interventions addressing ADLs; IADLs; social and leisure participation; sleep; fall prevention; and health promotion, management, and maintenance. It uses key concepts from the 3rd edition of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain and Process and is essential for clinical decision making in occupational therapy practice with community-dwelling older adults.
Publication Date: 2019
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Today Americans participate in sports more than ever before, and with increased activity follows an increased chance of injury. Sports medicine is therefore no longer relevant only to college and professional athletes, but also parents, amateur athletes, leisure sportsmen, and aging people maintaining a fitness regime everywhere. Orthopedic surgeons, nutritionists, physical therapists, sports psychologists, athletic trainers, and exercise physiologists are just a few of the various professionals whose work with patients and clients may cross over into the field of sports medicine.. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals. Entries on individual sports detail their most common injuries and how to prevent them. Appendixes offer additional resources and directories of relevant organizations, as well as detailing safety tips by sport, common injuries by body part or area, nutrition information by sport, and five commonly misdiagnosed sports injuries.
Call Number: Location: Meyer Reference 1st Floor Call Number: RC1206 .O355 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
The Alternative Health and Medicine Encyclopedia 1 by What is alternative medicine? -- Diet and nutrition -- Vitamins -- Minerals and trace elements -- Botanical medicine -- Exercise -- Stregthening the immune system -- Coping with stress -- Stress-related disorders -- Drug abuse and addiction -- Mental health disorders -- Common male health problems -- Common female health problems -- Holistic pregnancy and childbrith -- Dental care -- Eye, ear, nose, and throat disroders -- Cancer -- Heart disorders -- Aging -- Epilogue: the future of alternative medicine -- Glossary -- General bibliography -- Index.
Call Number: R733 .M38 1998
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Gray's Anatomy by Not since it first published in 1858 has Gray's Anatomy introduced so much innovation to the world of anatomical references. A team of renowned clinicians, anatomists, and basic scientists have radically transformed this classic resource to incorporate all of the newest anatomical knowledge reorganized it by body region to parallel clinical practice and added many new surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy images to complement the exquisite artwork that the book is known for. Although there are now many books called "Gray's Anatomy," only this 39th Edition carries on the true lineage of the original text. And, only this 39th Edition delivers so much pragmatic, clinically indispensable information. The result is, once again, the world's definitive source on human anatomy.. A new organization-by body region, rather than by organ system-parallels the way physicians approach patients. A new clinical emphasis ensures relevance to everyday practice. Updates reflect the very latest understanding of the pelvic floor · the inner ear · the peritoneum · preimplantation embryology · assisted fertilization · smooth and cardiac muscle · wrist kinematics and kinetics · the temporomandibular joint · blood supply to the muscles and skin · topographical, clinico-pathological, and functional anatomy · cross-sectional and endoscopic imaging · the spread of infection along fascial planes · anatomical landmarks that facilitate differential diagnosis · key anatomical variants throughout the body · and many other crucial areas. Almost 400 new illustrations nearly 2,000 in all, over half of them in full color-depict all structures with optimal clarity, includ¬ing surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy.
Call Number: Location: Meyer Reference 1st Floor Call Number: QM23.2 .G73 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
Encyclopedia of Arthritis by Arthritis is the number one cause of disability in the United States. More than 40 million people show some evidence of it on x-rays and more than 16 million suffer its effects. One of the most common misconceptions regarding arthritis is that it is a single disease, when in reality there are many different types of arthritis, requiring different types of treatment. The Encyclopedia of Arthritis is a new volume in the Library of Health and Living series. It provides comprehensive coverage of the topic in an accessible A-to-Z format written for lay reader but useful to the professional. The book covers everything from definitions of specific types of arthritis, its symptoms, its causes, and diagnoses to medications, pain management, and possible treatments. Relevant appendixes listing statistics and resources, information on drugs used for treatment, directories of organizations, periodicals and internet resources, and an extensive bibliography are also included.
Call Number: Location: Meyer Reference 1st Floor Call Number: RC933 .S766 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-01