Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for this Subject
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowThis database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present. It also contains a glossary of business terms.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Emerald eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowHospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 500,000 records, with full text for more than 250 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Mergent Online (10 user limit) This link opens in a new windowProvides financial information on over 10,000 U.S. companies and 20,000 non-U.S. companies, as well as industry information for world-wide industries.
MRI Simmons Insights (previously MRI University Reporter) This link opens in a new windowProvides summary tables of comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, media data, and product usage of over 6,500 products in nearly 600 categories collected from sampling over 25,000 consumers.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Cost of Living Index This link opens in a new windowProvides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis is the most current and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
USA Trade Online This link opens in a new windowContains specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide, with at least ten years of annual files available.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.