Meyer Library Information
Contact
Contact us at 417-886-4700 for assistance, or see Ask A Librarian to email questions or set up a research consultations!
Street Address:
850 S. John Q. Hammons Pkwy
Springfield, MO 65897
Parking
Visitors may park in the visitor's parking lot at the corner of National Avenue and Monroe Street (lot 13) or other metered parking on campus. The closest metered parking to the library is in Lot 19 on John Q. Hammons Pkwy.
Visitors may park in reserved lots, commuter and residence hall lots without a permit from 5:00 p.m. Friday to 7:00 a.m. Monday, except where posted otherwise.
Best Bets
- SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window A general reference database for high school and college students containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues, done according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher Plus Archive features lengthy reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports. It provides users with original, comprehensive reporting on issues in a balanced, unbiased manner, along with tools to study how these topics have changed over time.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Full-text database of news, legal, business, and biographical information.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Discover@MSU Search Box
Evaluation Websites
News Evaluation Resources
- BBC Disinformation Watch Newsletter
Biweekly updates and stories about disinformation issues worldwide.
-
Center for News Literacy, Stony Brook University School of Journalism
- Civic Online Reasoning (Stanford)
A curriculum for teaching and learning how to evaluate online information from Stanford University.
- eurotopics.net Media Landscape
Guide to the media landscape in most European countries and numerous other countries worldwide.
-
Misinformation and Disinformation: A Guide for Protecting Yourself
- Poynter Institute
A nonpartisan journalism site that sponsors the PolitiFact fact-checking team, the International Fact-Checking Network (IFCN), and much more.
Public Affairs
