United Nations Documents
This guide is designed to assist researchers and students in gaining access to United Nations materials available within the library’s collections, databases, and via the Internet.
If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions please use the information on the right to contact me.
What is the UN Collection and Where is it?
As a full depository for UN publications since 2000, Meyer Library received official records of the UN's main organs: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council. In 2001, Meyer Library acquired a retrospective microform collection of UN documents covering the years 1946 to 1994 adding important historical resources to this noteworthy collection. In 2014, the UN ceased allocating funds to print publications for the depository program. Instead, they made documents available online.
Where are the UN Documents?
The older collection of UN documents, 1946-1994, is located on the north side of the lower level of Meyer Library. It is in microformat and there is a machine nearby to help you read those formats.
The more recent collection of paper documents, 2001-2014, is also located on the lower level but near the northwest corner.
The following three database will help you find more current and sometimes older UN documents:
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the United Nations and "includes publications, journals and series comprising facts and expertise on international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, climate change, international law, governance, public health, and statistics."
- United Nations Digital LibraryThis database contains many digital documents and some records that just have metadata. Most of the full text content is recent.
- Dag Hammarskjöld LibraryThis is a traditional library catalog. It has less full text than the others but has better metadata coverage.
