Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Physics & Astronomy
Analytical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. It provides indexing and abstracting (with some full-text linking) to around 100 international journals from 1980 to date. It contains comprehensive coverage of new analytical techniques and applications from across the published literature.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
SciFinder This link opens in a new windowSciFinder is a platform that "allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more."
Scitation This link opens in a new windowScitation is the database platform for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals and conference proceedings.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
Salem Science This link opens in a new windowThis is the online version of seven scientific resources including Earth Science resources in weather, water, environmental issues, etc., and resources on forensic science
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowDesigned for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.