It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Individual Databases Best for Defense & Strategic Studies
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher Plus Archive features lengthy reports, including background information, pro/con discussions, tables, statistical data supporting sides of issues, and bibliographies of helpful resources used in preparing the reports. It provides users with original, comprehensive reporting on issues in a balanced, unbiased manner, along with tools to study how these topics have changed over time.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Political Science CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
Public Affairs IndexThis link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
Use connector words
cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Daily Life Through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.