Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Subject Specific Search Box
Individual Databases Best for Computer Science & Computer Information Systems
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Specific Indexes and Databases
Business Source Complete
Providing indexing for more than 8,800 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications, this database offers information in nearly every area of business.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Access almost a third of the world’s current electrical engineering and computer science literature. IEEE Xplore delivers IEEE subscriptions right to your computer, tablet, or mobile device. With powerful search tools and more than four million full-text documents, it is your gateway to the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides full-text coverage for nearly 300 journals, along with indexing and abstracts for over 600 journal titles in the communication and mass media fields.
Emerald eJournal Collection
Full-text access to nearly 150 journals in the social sciences and business areas.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more, with indexing back to the mid-1960s.
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
ScienceDirect eJournal Collection
Searchable ejournal collection of about 240 titles from Elsevier Science in the natural and applied sciences.
Scitation is a database/platform for researching physics as well as chemistry, materials science, and engineering.
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present, as well as company profiles, financial data, industry statistics, and more.
General Indexes and Databases
Academic Search Complete
Containing nearly 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database provides coverage for nearly every area of academic study.
Full-text newspapers. Also includes business, legal research and reference areas.
Oxford Reference Online
contains over 1.3 million entries, including definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates
Databases Best for Background Information
Remote Access to Resources
Accessing from off campus: When you are on campus, the databases and resources are readily accessible. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.