Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for this Subject
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines several databases relevant to women's and men's studies, as well as sexual diversity, child development and adolescent studies, and family and society studies, with coverage from 1972 and earlier to present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology This link opens in a new windowThe Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology contains short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (1 user only) This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 4,000 definitions on all aspects of statistics, including theoretical, survey, applied, and medical. Also includes short biographies of over 100 important statisticians
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowFeatures articles and biographies on such global topics as censorship, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, crime, health care, etc.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.