Skip to main content

Missouri State University home page Missouri State University Libraries

History: General Resources and Newspapers

General Article Indexes

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,183 journals in the collection.

Popular Magazines

 Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (5 user limit)

Contains more than 3 million citations to articles in 375 general interest periodicals published between 1890-1982. Note: This database is not full-text  you will need to click on the TOUR link to access the library catalog and find the journal's call number. Libray staff can help you locate the article within the bound periodicals.

Newspaper Articles Prior to 1980

Newspaper Articles dated before 1980:  To find newspaper articles dated prior to 1980, you will need to use print newspaper indexes, which list newspaper articles organized by topic and year.  The following indexes are available in the lower level.

New York Times Ref AI21 .N45 

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Ref AI21.S79 B44

Los Angeles Times  Ref AI21.L65 L67   

Chicago Tribune   Ref  AI21.C45 C47

 Washington Post  Ref AI21.W33 O54x 

To use an index, select the volume with the correct year and look up your topic.  Make a note of the newspaper title, year, date, page and section where your article is located.  Try looking for articles from different newspapers across the country for unique information and perspectives on the topic.   Remember the reference staff is available to assist you!


Jan 22

Newspaper Articles

Reference Books

Chase’s Calendar of Events Ref Desk GT 4803.C48—Available at the Reference Desk.
Chronology of World History Ref D 11.M39 1999  
Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates Ref E 174.5.C3 1987 
On this Day Ref GT3930.O5x  1996  
Encyclopedia of World Facts and Dates Ref D11.C37x 1993 
Handbook of Dates: For Students of English History Ref DA34.C5 1981 
World Holiday, Festival, and Calendar Books  Ref GT3930.Z1 W67 1998 
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary Ref GT3925.H64 2005   
The Timetables of American History  Ref E18.5.T553 1996 
The Timetables of History: a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events  Ref D11.G78 1991  
The World Almanac and Book of Facts  Ref Desk AY67.N5 W7 1940-1947, 1949- 

City Newspapers

Springfield Newspaper Index-- is part of the Springfield-Greene County Public Library's Ozark News and Historical Index, which indexes Springfield newspapers (1867-2002) and provides selected topical indexing to regional periodicals primarily from the 1970s to 1990s.