It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA ReligionThis link opens in a new windowThe ATLA Religion Database is a major research tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with most coverage from 1949 to the present.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts to the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
International Medieval Bibliography (3 user limit)This link opens in a new windowContaining 300,000 citation records on all subjects related to the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD), and covering the geographical areas of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Philosopher's Index (1 user limit)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to research, including abstracts and some full-text linking, for nearly 570 journals, books, and other resources in all aspects of philosophy.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Use connector words
cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Encyclopedia of Religion in AmericaThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Religion in America covers issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It describes the role of religion in the political, social, cultural, and historical framework of North America.
Encyclopaedia of the Quran (3 user limit)This link opens in a new windowIt is an encyclopaedic dictionary of Quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Quranic studies.
Encyclopaedia JudaicaThis link opens in a new windowThe landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists, with more than 2,600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and New World geographic areas of the United States, Canada and Latin America.
Encyclopedia of ReligionThis link opens in a new windowThis is the electronic version of the 15-volume encyclopedia (2005, 2nd ed.) which encompasses all aspects in the field of religion.
Encyclopedia of Politics and ReligionThis link opens in a new windowIt features "approximately 300 signed articles that trace the historical roots of the relations between politics and religion in the modern world and consider how these two elemental institutions of society have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially over the past two centuries."
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.