It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Studies: Find Articles
This guide provides many research resources related to African American studies topics.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Salem HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThe online, full-text equivalent of nineteen print resources: Countries, Peoples and Cultures: Central, South and Southeast Asia; The Decades: the Thirties, Forties, Fifties & Sixties in America; Great Athletes; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals; Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, the Incredibly Wealthy, African Americans, and Inventors & Inventions; Innovators: Computer Technology Innovators, Internet Innovators; Issues in U.S. Immigration; Milestone Documents: American History, African American History; Reference Shelf: Supreme Court, Whistleblowers, 2015-16 Debate Topic (Surveillance).
Use connector words
cats AND kittens
cats OR kittens
cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Daily Life Through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
American National Biography (1 user limit)This link opens in a new windowThe American National Biography (ANB) contains over 18,000 signed biographies of deceased persons "whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history."
Africa : An Encyclopedia of Culture and SocietyThis link opens in a new windowAn Encyclopedia of Culture and Society provides current and comprehensive information on all countries in Africa from a social and cultural point of view. It has 54 entries, one for each country in Africa and its associated islands. Each entry in this work begins with a listing of Quick Facts about the country—Capital, Major Cities, Population, Languages, Government Type, Ethnic Groups, and Religions—and concludes with a bibliography of important print and electronic information resources.