Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Economics
Business Insights: Essentials This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present. It also contains a glossary of business terms.
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
EconLit EconLit provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. It is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.
Mergent Online (10 user limit) Provides financial information on over 10,000 U.S. companies and 20,000 non-U.S. companies, as well as industry information for world-wide industries.
Wall Street Journal The Wall Street Journal provides full-text coverage of all articles by Wall Street Journal staff writers from 1984 to date, including the current day's news.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Cost of Living Index Provides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services.
Encyclopedia of Economics and Society This encyclopedia provides non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens. It covers classic economic theory and history with emphasis on contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society.
USA Trade Online Contains specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide, with at least ten years of annual files available.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.