Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Activism, Campaigning and Political Discourse on Twitter by Social media has increasingly become a strong factor that shapes how we communicate about social and political ideas. And it has been argued that Twitter and other social media platforms empower voices that were previously marginalized, hold governments accountable and provides opportunities for individuals to network and campaign to achieve social and political reforms. In this collection of chapters, authors from different academic disciplines, coming from different social and political backgrounds and experiences have explored the increasing transformative potentials of Twitter for group advocacy. The chapters further illustrate how Twitter serves as a forum for spreading awareness and information on social events, as well as for social activism and political discourse. Some of the topics explored include: Understanding the potential of Twitter for political activism; Digital Trump and conflict: A multi-method analysis; The use of Twitter as complementary press on the disappearance of the Malaysia Airlines Flight MH370; Constructing transnational identity through Twitter activism: A discourse study of #FGM; LGBT social media activism in India; Online activism in Mali: a study of digital discourses of the Movement for the Liberation of Azawad; Sousveilance Twitter: activists' pro-democracy governance from below in Middle East; Twitter's ethics of freedom in the aftermath of November 2015 Paris attacks through the lens of the anonymous collective, etc. This collection of chapters written by experts, and budding academics from different disciplines, will be an invaluable handbook and serves as resource materials for students, scholars and practitioners of Communication, Political Science and International Relations, Law, Linguistics, Journalism and Media Studies.
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Communication and Media Ethics by Ethics in communication and media has arguably reached a pivotal stage of maturity in the last decade, moving from disparate lines of inquiry to a theory-driven, interdisciplinary field presenting normative frameworks and philosophical explications for communicative practices. The intent of this volume is to present this maturation, to reflect the vibrant state of ethics theorizing and to illuminate promising pathways for future research.
Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Environmental Journalism by This informative title describes the details of three real case studies of investigative journalism about the environment. Stories include journalists following a trail of electronic waste to Africa, chemical pollution by a company affecting people's health, and unfair use of water resources. Readers will gain an understanding of the research process, the ethical standards journalists must follow, and the perseverance required to confirm a story and affect change.
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Law and New Media by Will social media lead to social law? The force of legal remediation? Virtual courts and online judges? Paperless trials? Electronic discovery? All of these novel legal developments impact how we conceive of the practice of law. Here, international specialists from new and established domains of law, media, film and virtual studies address the emergence of the jurist in the era of digital transmission. From the cinema of the early 20th century to social media, this volume explores the multiple intersections of these visual technologies and the law from the theoretical insight they generate to the nature of law to the impact they have on doctrinal development.
Publication Date: 2019-06-14
Making Media by Making Media uncovers what it means and what it takes to make media (professionally), focusing on the lived experience of media workers within the global media, including rich case studies of the main media industries and professions: television, journalism, social media entertainment, advertising, public relations, digital games, and music.
Publication Date: 2019-01-14
Communication in the Age of Trump by Franklin Delano Roosevelt used radio fireside chats to connect with millions of ordinary Americans. The highly articulate and telegenic John F. Kennedy was dubbed the first TV president. Ronald Reagan, the so-called Great Communicator, had a conversational way of speaking to the common man. Bill Clinton left his mark on media industries by championing and signing the landmark Telecommunications Act of 1996 into law. Barack Obama was the first social media presidential campaigner and president. And now there is President Donald J. Trump. Because so much of what has made Donald Trump's candidacy and presidency unconventional has been about communication--how he has used Twitter to convey his political messages and how the news media and voters have interpreted and responded to his public words and persona--21 communication and media scholars examine the Trump phenomenon in Communication in the Age of Trump. This collection of essays and studies, suitable for communication and political science students and scholars, covers the 2016 presidential campaign and the first year of the Trump presidency.
Publication Date: 2018-09-19
Ghosting the News by "An excellent introduction to the essential problem of our republic. With a wake-up call like this one, we still have a chance."--Timothy Snyder, author ofOn Tyranny An Epidemic of News Deserts and Ghost Papers Ghosting the News tells the most troubling media story of our time: How democracy suffers when local news dies. From 2004 to 2015, 1,800 print newspaper outlets closed in the US. One in five news organizations in Canada has closed since 2008. One in three Brazilians lives in news deserts. The absence of accountability journalism has created an atmosphere in which indicted politicians were elected, school superintendents were mismanaging districts, and police chiefs were getting mysterious payouts. This is not the much-discussed fake-news problem--it's the separate problem of a critical shortage of real news. America's premier media critic, Margaret Sullivan, charts the contours of the damage, and surveys a range of new efforts to keep local news alive--from non-profit digital sites to an effort modeled on the Peace Corps. No nostalgic paean to the roar of rumbling presses,Ghosting the News instead sounds a loud alarm, alerting citizens to a growing crisis in local news that has already done serious damage.
Publication Date: 2020-07-14
Merchants of Truth by The definitive report on the disruption of the news media over the last decade. With the expert guidance of former Executive Editor of The New York Times Jill Abramson, we follow two legacy (The New York Times and The Washington Post) and two upstart (BuzzFeed and VICE) companies as they plow through a revolution in technology, economics, standards, commitment, and endurance that pits old vs. new media. Merchants of Truth is the groundbreaking and gripping story of the precarious state of the news business told by one of our most eminent journalists. Jill Abramson follows four companies: The New York Times, The Washington Post, BuzzFeed, and VICE Media over a decade of disruption and radical adjustment. The new digital reality nearly kills two venerable newspapers with an aging readership while creating two media behemoths with a ballooning and fickle audience of millennials. We get to know the defenders of the legacy presses as well as the outsized characters who are creating the new speed-driven media competitors. The players include Jeff Bezos and Marty Baron (The Washington Post), Arthur Sulzberger and Dean Baquet (The New York Times), Jonah Peretti (BuzzFeed), and Shane Smith (VICE) as well as their reporters and anxious readers. Merchants of Truth raises crucial questions that concern the well-being of our society. We are facing a crisis in trust that threatens the free press. Abramson's book points us to the future.
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
A Handbook of Journalism by Journalism as a discipline is becoming increasingly important today. It has to contend with new challenges such as the explosion of social media, heightened commercial competition in the mainstream media and the emergence of the media as a powerful actor in public policy and governance. The confluence of these factors calls for fresh thinking about the teaching and practice of journalism. A Handbook of Journalism: Media in the Information Age not only helps readers to understand today's media environment but also prepares them to face the existing challenges. Distinguished editors, experts, academics and journalists join to examine these challenges from various angles, including some of the major contemporary trends, issues and processes in governance, institutions, administration and development, among others. The book fairly and objectively discusses a critical discipline that is at the crossroads.
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Journalism by This volume sets out the state-of-the-art in the discipline of journalism at a time in which the practice and profession of journalism is in serious flux. While journalism is still anchored to its history, change is infecting the field. The profession, and the scholars who study it, are reconceptualizing what journalism is in a time when journalists no longer monopolize the means for spreading the news. Here, journalism is explored as a social practice, as an institution, and as memory. The roles, epistemologies, and ethics of the field are evolving. With this in mind, the volume revisits classic theories of journalism, such as gatekeeping and agenda-setting, but also opens up new avenues of theorizing by broadening the scope of inquiry into an expanded journalism ecology, which now includes citizen journalism, documentaries, and lifestyle journalism, and by tapping the insights of other disciplines, such as geography, economics, and psychology. The volume is a go-to map of the field for students and scholars--highlighting emerging issues, enduring themes, revitalized theories, and fresh conceptualizations of journalism.
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media by This concise encyclopaedic reference is the second of two derivative volumes of the Academic Press' bestselling Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. An authoritative collection of articles discussing ethical issues within and about the news and entertainment industries as well as politics, this volume includes three new articles especially commissioned and 30 articles previously published in the Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. Over half of the previously published articles include updated facts and bibliographic citations. New articles include Media Ethics, Overview, War Reporting and Privacy vs Public Right to Know.
Publication Date: 2000-12-18