Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Health & Medicine
- CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (8 user limit) This link opens in a new window CINAHL with Full Text provides citations and full-text articles published in nursing journals, including information on consumer health, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. The database contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database containing all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with coverage from 1965 to present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window This medical literature database contains citations which may link to full-text articles from medical and life science journals around the world.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
- SPORTDiscus (8 user limit) This link opens in a new window With comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, physical fitness/wellness, exercise, sports medicine, and other topics, this database contains nearly 1,400,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine provides evidence-based applications and diagnostic and treatment techniques covering all aspects of the sports medicine field.
- Salem Health This link opens in a new window Salem Health is the online version of five resources: Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, and Infectious Diseases & Conditions.
- STAT!Ref Online Electronic Medical Library (Varies from 1-5 users) This link opens in a new window An easy to use digital medical library for healthcare professionals, providing access to information about prescription drugs, diagnosis information, and treatment options for a variety of medical conditions.
