Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts to the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowContains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
Archaeology in America: An EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowArchaeology in America provides readers with an accessible overview of the archaeological site in North America, including the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research.
Daily Life Through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
Dictionary of National Biography (1 user limit)This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains 55,000 detailed biographical essays and over 10,000 pictures or portraits of people no longer living who have had some significant connection to British history, including individuals from Great Britain as well as individuals such as Mahatma Gandhi, from current or former British territories, or people such as poet T.S. Eliot, who migrated to Great Britain. New material is added three times per year.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureThis link opens in a new windowProvides over 5,800 articles on every aspect of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present
World History: The Modern EraThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides an easy-to-understand approach to modern world history (1500 to present) with advanced searching by categories, eras, countries, or regions.