Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Discover@MSU Video
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request Articles Video
Individual Databases Best for Reading, Foundations, & Technology
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that "contains over +2 million MARC fiction and non-fiction records for children's and young adult media as well as more than 400,000 quality reviews for many of these titles accessed in a single search.
Education Full Text Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed.
ERIC Contains annotated references to educational materials and reports, called ERIC documents, and to articles published in professional magazines and research journals. Subject areas indexed include: adult, career, and vocational education; assessment and evaluation; disabilities and gifted education; educational management; elementary and early childhood education; higher education and community colleges; information and technology; language and linguistics; reading and communication; teacher and teacher education; and urban education.
Professional Development Collection Contains nearly 520 full-text education journals for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers.
Use connector words
- cats AND kittens
- cats OR kittens
- cats NOT kittens
Truncation(*): find all endings of a word
- nurs* (nurse, nurses, nursing)
- farm* (farms, farmers, farming, farmed)
- music* (musician, musical, musicality)
Databases Best for Background Information
Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia Covers both early childhood development and education in the United States and in ten other countries including Australia, Brazil, China, France, Italy, Japan, South Africa, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.
OSEDA (Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis) This site provides updated statistical information for Missouri, including demographic, social, economic, education, and health-related data.
Picture Book Database Combines data from thousands of picture books as well as many publisher, author, and illustrator websites.
Access to Library Resources
To access library resources, you will be prompted to login with your BearPass ID and password, for example: jay567 (do not include @sgf or @wp) and your password.
If you have difficulties, please call the Information Desk at (417) 836-4700 or contact us through our Ask a Librarian services.