Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Theatre
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text indexes and abstracts 425 periodicals dating back to 1984, with full text for 125 periodicals beginning in 1997. It covers art history, folk art, graphic arts, painting, sculpture, architecture, and pottery, there is also detailed coverage in advertising art, archaeology, costume, film, and textiles.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Consists of citations and bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in more than 4,400 journals and series from 1926-present.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive guide to all styles and genres of music covering over 700 international music periodicals from 1970 to present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
Streaming Media Databases
- Films on Demand (All MSU campuses) This link opens in a new window Available for all MSU campuses and contains over 35,000 highly interdisciplinary streaming videos.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Allows streaming access to thousands of musical selections, primarily classical music, but also world music, classic pop and rock music, as well as Chinese orchestral music.
- Naxos Music Library - Jazz Collection (5 user limit) This link opens in a new window Allows streaming access to thousands of jazz musical selections, primarily contemporary jazz, but also from jazz legends.
- Naxos Video Library (5 user limit) This link opens in a new window Over 2,500 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, concerts, and documentaries.
- On The Boards OntheBoards.tv is a first-of-its-kind portal for viewing full-length, high-quality performance films on your TV, desktop, or laptop. It functions as a streaming subscription service and an archive for ground-breaking artistic projects and contemporary performances.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia contains hundreds of articles authored by over 90 expert contributors. It covers both traditional and contemporary Asian theatre, especially South, Southeast, and Far East Asia.
- Grove Music Online (1 user limit) This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001 ed.), along with four other music resources, including opera and jazz.
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections : An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Since 1900 This link opens in a new window A standard referece source for plays published in collections and anthologies in England and the United States, covering 1900 through 2000 and beyond.
- Oxford Music Online (3 user limit) This link opens in a new window This is the platform for Grove Music Online and two other electronic resources.
