It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fort Osage Career & Tech Center: CRM 210 Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
Use quotation marks to combine multiple words into a single phrase or concept when searching. Example: "applied behavioral analysis"
Boolean Operators: AND
Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include all listed items. Example: yoga AND mental health
Boolean Operators: OR
Connect related terms or synonyms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms listed. Example: idea OR concept OR notion
Synonyms and Related Terms
Add synonyms of related terms to your search to expand your resource pool. Synonym example: (scarcity OR shortage) Related term example: data OR information OR documentation OR records)
Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. Think mathematical order of operations. Example: food AND (shortage OR scarcity) AND Missouri AND (youth OR adolescents)
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Full-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Through June, 2013, also includes PsycEXTRA and PsycCRITIQUES.
This database provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, books, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology, including such sub-disciplines as criminal justice, social work, gender studies, and social psychology.
The 9/11 Encyclopedia contains entries on people and events leading up to September 11, what actually took place on September 11, and the aftermath of September 11. The sequence of events on the day itself are covered in detail in various citations. Finally, the reasons why American intelligence and law enforcement agencies were unable to prevent September 11 are covered in considerable depth. Also of interest are the various conspiracy theories that have emerged in the last five years. The goal is to present to the reader a comprehensive look at all aspects of September 11 so that it can be understood in its context.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology contains short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in the broad field of sociology. It provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field. While focused broadly in sociology, this encyclopedia touches on a wide range of disciplines such as criminology, ethnography, gender studies, gerontology, psychology, and social work.
Provides a balanced approach to gun control issues, including events, persons, laws, and organizations. It covers the subject of gun control, fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, the control of violence, and national security.
Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. It includes country profiles, full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations past and present, issues in economics, government, religion, journalism, etc., that touch on human rights theory and practice."
Provides easy-to-understand information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts.
Encyclopedia of War covers the history of warfare from ancient times to the present day across the entire globe including topics ranging from tribal warfare to chemical warfare, pacifism, and war crimes.