Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Computer Science
- Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new window Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window This database provides company profiles, SWOT reports, financial data, industry statistics, as well as news coverage of major business events and trends from 1980 to present. It also contains a glossary of business terms.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- Emerald eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
- IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window Your gateway to the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (1 user only) This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 4,000 definitions on all aspects of statistics, including theoretical, survey, applied, and medical. Also includes short biographies of over 100 important statisticians
