Database Search Tips
Discover@MSU Search Box
Databases Best for Agriculture
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA covers materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. The database includes records of books, journals and other serials, audiovisual and other materials from over 5000 sources and contains in excess of 4,800,000 records from 1970 to the present.
- Animal Breeding Abstracts This link opens in a new window Animal Breeding Abstracts cites and abstracts information from journal articles, reports, conferences and books about animal breeding, genetics, reproduction, and production. Topic coverage includes all aspects of biological research in immunogenetics, genetic engineering and fertility improvement in horses, cattle, sheep, goats, poultry, lab animals, etc.
- Biological Abstracts (10 user limit) This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts indexes articles in over 4,000 scientific journals from the life science and biomedical research literature, with coverage back to 1969. Topics covered include botany, pharmacology, biochemistry, microbiology, and evolutionary ecology, genetics, and more.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Contains over 900 full-text journals and nearly 200 full-text monographs on environmental topics such as agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and related topics.
- ScienceDirect eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access from 1998-present to about 175 ejournals published by Elsevier Science and subscribed to by MSU Libraries, with the majority of journal titles from the natural and applied science areas, but social science titles are also part of the collection.
Google Scholar
Background Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience provides the finest collection of science reference materials, online and fully searchable. It includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News headlines. In addition the McGraw-Hill Dictionary provides access to 110,000 + definitions of Scientific & Technical Terms and biographies of scientists.
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering covers the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilized in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods-emphasizing and illustrating the various engineering processes associated with the production of materials with agricultural origin.
- Encyclopedia of American Environmental History This link opens in a new window The Encyclopedia of American Environmental History is a resource containing over 750 articles, detailing nearly every significant issue, event, law, and figure in US environmental history. This resource also contains eight introductory essays, 200 illustrations, 100 original documents, and many more rich visual resources.
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change This link opens in a new window Contains over 750 articles about global warming, climate change, and the impact on specific countries and regions of the world. The articles cover categories such as: atmospheric sciences; climate; climate change effects; climate and society; climate feedbacks; climate models; institutions studying climate change; oceanography; paleoclimates; programs and conventions; and people studying climate change.
- Encyclopedia of Pollution This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of Pollution addresses all aspects of pollution and the global impact on the environment in a single source. It uses scientific data to explain the different types of pollutants including properties, production, uses, environmental release and fate, adverse health response to exposure, and environmental regulations on human exposure.
- Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment This link opens in a new window Contains over 250 entries on the origins, properties, classification, and roles of soils in the biosphere.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Designed for general science students, with full-text periodicals, books, biographies, videos and images.
