Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Boolean Operators: AND
- Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include all listed items. Example: yoga AND mental health
Boolean Operators: OR
- Connect related terms or synonyms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms listed. Example: idea OR concept OR notion
Synonyms and Related Terms
- Add synonyms of related terms to your search to expand your resource pool. Synonym example: (scarcity OR shortage) Related term example: data OR information OR documentation OR records)
- Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. Think mathematical order of operations. Example: food AND (shortage OR scarcity) AND Missouri AND (youth OR adolescents)
Article (Periodical) Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text indexes and abstracts 425 periodicals dating back to 1984, with full text for 125 periodicals beginning in 1997. It covers art history, folk art, graphic arts, painting, sculpture, architecture, and pottery, there is also detailed coverage in advertising art, archaeology, costume, film, and textiles.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Emerald eJournal Collection
Full-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
Gender Studies Database
Combines several databases relevant to women's and men's studies, as well as sexual diversity, child development and adolescent studies, and family and society studies, with coverage from 1972 and earlier to present.
Provides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
WGSN contains up-to-date information about the apparel, style, design, and retail industries collected from all over the world.
Daily Life Through History
This comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
Encyclopedia of American Business
The Encyclopedia of American Business is designed to help students understand the complex world of American business. Topics discussed in this resource were selected based on their prominence in the Wall Street Journal and other ‘principle’ texts used in beginning management, marketing, economics, finance, and accounting courses.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society
This encyclopedia includes more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
The online, full-text equivalent of nineteen print resources: Countries, Peoples and Cultures: Central, South and Southeast Asia; The Decades: the Thirties, Forties, Fifties & Sixties in America; Great Athletes; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals; Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, the Incredibly Wealthy, African Americans, and Inventors & Inventions; Innovators: Computer Technology Innovators, Internet Innovators; Issues in U.S. Immigration; Milestone Documents: American History, African American History; Reference Shelf: Supreme Court, Whistleblowers, 2015-16 Debate Topic (Surveillance).