It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Smithville High School: HST 122 History of the US since 1877
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowContains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 560 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences disciplines.
American Indian ExperienceThis link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America. It includes full-text books, hundreds of primary documents and media, treaties, speeches, and captivity narratives as well as traditional storytelling, a wealth of maps, photographs, and video.
American National Biography (1 user limit)This link opens in a new windowThe American National Biography (ANB) contains over 18,000 signed biographies of deceased persons "whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history."
American State Papers, 1789-1838This link opens in a new windowThe American State Papers contains primary source from the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789-1838. They also cover speeches and messages from Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison, as well as all legislative and executive documents from the first 14 Congresses, with additional coverage extending through the 25th Congress.
Archaeology in America: An EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowArchaeology in America provides readers with an accessible overview of the archaeological site in North America, including the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research.
Daily Life Through HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provides direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. Daily Life Through History (Academic Edition) "supports courses in American history and literature and is an outstanding, cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.