It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McDonald County High School: PLS 101 American Democracy & Citizenship
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life provides citations and abstracts to research on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with coverage dating back to 1954. This database covers all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts to the published scholarly research on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
Humanities International CompleteThis link opens in a new windowContains over 1,200 full-text journals (including over 700 not in Academic Search Complete) on all aspects of the humanities related to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull-text, complete journal collection with over 1,300 titles covering a multitude of subjects, including history, economics, religion, philosophy, classics, language, music, art, sociology, political science, conservation, plant science, cell biology, and zoology
Our JSTOR database offers two multidisciplinary collections: 1) Arts & Sciences I-IX is an umbrella journal collection containing nine sub-units, but which is searched as one collection. Its contents are: over 1,100 core journals in nearly all academic disciplines, including economics, history, political science, public administration, sociology, mathematics, statistics, philosophy, religion, ecology, archaeology, classics, Latin American, African, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies, language, literature, theatre, music, art, architecture, legal scholarship, business, education, management, marketing, and health sciences; 2) Biological Sciences, which is a collection of over 150 journals in science fields such as conservation, plant sciences, cell biology and zoology.
Political Science CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis resource provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 journals in areas such as comparative politics, political theory, and international relations.
Public Affairs IndexThis link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of public policy issues, ranging from health, the environment, human rights, international conflicts, energy, etc.
American State Papers, 1789-1838This link opens in a new windowThe American State Papers contains primary source from the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789-1838. They also cover speeches and messages from Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison, as well as all legislative and executive documents from the first 14 Congresses, with additional coverage extending through the 25th Congress.
Congress and the NationThis link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage on policies and issues during the first term of the Obama administration. It contains documents of the most fiercely debated issues during this period, including: stimulus spending in the wake of financial crisis, the controversial reform of the U.S. healthcare system, and showdowns over raising the national debt ceiling.
Congress A to ZThis link opens in a new windowCongress A to Z provides ready-reference insight into the national legislature, its organization, processes, personalities, major legislation, and history. It covers the dramatic congressional events of recent years, including social media usage by members of Congress, the politics of recent debt ceiling and deficit spending showdowns with the executive branch, new floor leaders in both chambers, and campaign finance patterns.
Elections A to ZThis link opens in a new windowElections A to Z explains how campaigns and elections, the hallmark of any democracy, are conducted in the United States. Entries cover the vital current elections topics that readers want to know about. They range from short definitions of terms like o in-depth essays exploring vital aspects of campaigns and elections, such as the right to vote, turnout trends, and the history, evolution, and current state of House, Senate, presidential, and some state-level elections.
Encyclopedia of Political ScienceThis link opens in a new windowContains over 1,500 signed articles by contributors from over 30 countries. This resource will be useful for students in comparative politics, international relations, public administration, and other political science areas
Guide to the U.S. Supreme CourtThis link opens in a new windowThis resource covers all aspects of the U.S. Supreme Court, including biographies of the justices, major court decisions, and how the Court functions.
Statesman's Yearbook (1 user limit)This link opens in a new windowContains up-to-date, brief articles on all countries in the world and information on international organizations.
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowThis is the most current and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Supreme Court A to ZThis link opens in a new windowProvides concise, historical entries on the structure, dynamics, and significant cases decided by the U.S. Supreme Court.
U.S. Constitution A to ZThis link opens in a new windowThis resource offers clear, concise explanations on all aspects of the U.S. Constitution.