Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Boolean Operators: AND
- Connect key terms with AND to specify you want resources that include all listed items. Example: yoga AND mental health
Boolean Operators: OR
- Connect related terms or synonyms with OR to find resources that contain one, some, or all of the terms listed. Example: idea OR concept OR notion
Synonyms and Related Terms
- Add synonyms of related terms to your search to expand your resource pool. Synonym example: (scarcity OR shortage) Related term example: data OR information OR documentation OR records)
- Enclose related terms and synonyms in parentheses to specify that the database should parse them as a single unit. Think mathematical order of operations. Example: food AND (shortage OR scarcity) AND Missouri AND (youth OR adolescents)
Article (Periodical) Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with nearly 9,100 full-text journals and magazines, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and magazines, as well as books/monographs, country reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides indexing for over 5,000 business journals, trade publications, and magazines, including full text for over 3,800 titles, of which nearly 2,000 are peer-reviewed journals. This database offers information in management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. It contains market research reports, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. It offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more. Furthermore, this database includes over 3,000 author profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Emerald eJournal Collection
Full-text access to nearly 150 journals. The majority of journal titles are in the social sciences and business, covering such fields as management, marketing, accounting, finance, industrial management, public administration, criminal justice, and library and information science.
Mergent Online (10 user limit)
Provides financial information on over 10,000 U.S. companies and 20,000 non-U.S. companies, as well as industry information for world-wide industries.
MRI University Reporter (10 user limit)
Provides summary tables of comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, media data, and product usage of over 6,500 products in nearly 600 categories collected from sampling over 25,000 consumers.
Cost of Living Index
Provides up-to-date income and cost comparisons for over 300 urban areas in the U.S., including housing, utilities, transportation, health care, groceries, and other goods and services.
Encyclopedia of American Business
The Encyclopedia of American Business is designed to help students understand the complex world of American business. Topics discussed in this resource were selected based on their prominence in the Wall Street Journal and other ‘principle’ texts used in beginning management, marketing, economics, finance, and accounting courses.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society
This encyclopedia includes more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics contains 600 essays on social media's impact on politics, including U.S. elections, political parties, media coverage, etc.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This is the most current and authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
USA Trade Online
Contains specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide, with at least ten years of annual files available.
WGSN contains up-to-date information about the apparel, style, design, and retail industries collected from all over the world.